We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wide Mouthed Frog
Ranked #36 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nr Didcot
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at the WMF twice in between visiting the islands. Our first room had a good view over the marina but broken tiles on the bathroom floor which lifted up as you walked on them, the second room was more spacious but one sheet on a tired mattress that you can feel the springs through is not satisfactory, neither was the broken hairdryer in the bathroom. We stayed two nights on the second visit and they also forgot to service the room so all in all we think it deserves the 'average' rating and won't be staying there again or recommending it to friends and family. The only redemming feature were the friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and worry about traffic noise, request a room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacBlewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    74
    32
    22
    26
See reviews for
42
137
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
463 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

The restaurant has a nice view over the marina. We started with a drink on the terrace and them moved inside for dinner. The food was good, but not by any means great. The restaurant is attractive, but the table are a little too close together.

Main problem was the service. Initially everything was really rushed, which each course arriving immediately after we finished the last. Then when we wanted to order a coffee and later pay the bill it was almost impossible to attract any ones attention. The restaurant was by the end of the evening very busy, so I guess they wanted to serve us quickly when we first arrived to get us out of the way.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night when taking the ferry to Mull, found the place was just what we needed. Clean room, friendly staff good choice on the menu.
Don't be put off by first impression, like all good things, it's often better than skin deep.
We'd use it again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Had a nice experience here while travelling with a friend. We had a very large - long and narrow - room with two singles and a lounge area. Clean, modern, and nice views of the water. Dinner was also good. The staff were super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

One night stay in the downstairs accommodation which was clean and set to a good standard. Unfortunately the guests upstairs could be heard talking and walking around very easily.
The staff were very friendly, with wifi available and the cooked breakfast was excellent

Room Tip: upstairs room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 321KSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

The lunch menu in the restaurant is adequate and reasonably priced. The portions are large and the service was quick and friendly. It's not 4* but for a quick lunch stop, this is a good place with lovely views over the marina and castle.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishingvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We were on a yacht that berthed at the marina. The options were cook our own or eat here.

We ordered a round of drinks and they got the order wrong - they had heard one of the crew describing what beers were available to another of the crew and had taken this as an order. when we pointed this error out there was no offer of correcting it.

The food was ordinary and expensive and the service slow. Our coffees were served so farin advance of the desert that they were cold and we had to ask for replacements.

Overall a poor meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.9 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
1.4 mi away
Oyster Inn
Oyster Inn
#4 of 9 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lochnell Arms Hotel
Lochnell Arms Hotel
#2 of 9 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ards House
Ards House
#3 of 9 in Connel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
#32 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wide Mouthed Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wide Mouthed Frog

Property: The Wide Mouthed Frog
Address: Dunstaffnage Marina, Oban, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wide Mouthed Frog 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wide Mouthed Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wide Mouthed Frog Hotel Oban
The Wide Mouthed Frog Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing