We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for visiting Oban”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wide Mouthed Frog
Ranked #34 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great base for visiting Oban”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst doing a day tour out to Staffa and Iona. This is the second year that we have stayed at this hotel. It hasn't really changed much during the course of the past year and still offers very comfortable and clean accommodation. The shower/bathroom in particular is very nice and well equipped.

The bed was huge and very comfortable.

Oban is about a 5/10 minute drive away and offers basic shops and a selection of restaurants. Parking can be at a premium by staying in the centre of Oban so The Wide Mouthed Frog offers a local solution, parking is ample and free.

We had breakfast as part of our package and this offered a range of options that would suit most people. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The one piece of negative feedback (being really picky) was the tv in our room was very small, it must have been about 14 inches and in a large room it was located in the corner so somewhat difficult to see, as I say this is being really picky as we were out all day and didn't get back until late evening so only had it on for an hour or two after dinner.

Overall a really pleasant stay and I would not hesitate to return when visiting Oban in the future.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room facing the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    77
    34
    22
    26
See reviews for
45
140
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Spent last night at the WMG and there were no issues with the staff or service. Very friendly, if quirky place, rooms in need of a little TLC, but great food in the restaurant and wonderful breakfast, all in all a lovely last night in the Highlands.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Have used the Frog for the last few years because of its location but this year will be the last. Staff are dreadful. Bar staff can't serve and won't serve. Takes forever to get served. Place is run to the chef's demands not the customers'. Breakfast is advertised from 0800-0930. Chef didn't turn up til 0800 so we had to miss it. Next day tried to get breakfast in an empty restaurant at 0915 but the chef was pretty much shutting up shop already. It's just a surly atmosphere in what could be such a good wee place. Everything is an effort to them. We won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awooga71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We visited during west highland yachting week and were treated appallingly. We were consistently ignored at the bar, the breakfast chef turned up late so we couldn't have breakfast in time for sailing and on the last day when we turned up asking for breakfast at 9.15 am we were told we couldnt be accommodated despite service being advertised until 9.30 am. We were offered some breakfast rolls but were rudely told we were not allowed to sit at tables. They really need to get a grip and start trying to be pleasant to their customers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Spilly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obanazawa, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Fabulous location on the marina. Don't be put of by the outside the inside is really nice. Food was good and reasonable prices.service was a bit inexperienced but friendly.Room and ensuite were lovely but could do with a bigger than 18inch tv screen
Overall an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No1AMCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had been out for the day in Oban and on the way back to our holiday cottage at fort William there was a road traffic accident and the road was closed overnight so we needed somewhere to stay. It was 11pm when we arrived here having been looking for bed and breakfasts but not having any luck. They had two rooms available that needed servicing so whilst we had a few drinks in the bar they quickly got the rooms ready, they were so friendly and accommodating after we had been stuck in the traffic queue for more than four hours was so lovely to be greeted with such a welcome. The rooms were very comfortable, and so we finally got a good nights sleep. Excellent home cooked breakfast in the morning and very reasonable price. Will definitely stay here again some time :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithstoneley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I really loved this hotel. From the moment we arrived, Cathryn made us very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and I was always met with a smile.

The location was great, relaxing and tranquil with arguably better seafood than in Oban itself.
It was utterly relaxing sitting with glass of wine in hand looking out towards the marina.

The room itself (room 1) was spotless and all facilities you would want. Good quality furniture, flat screen tv and lovely comfortable bed. The bathroom was immaculate.

Breakfast was first rate and Cathryn even catered to my individual breakfast request with no hesitation of fuss.

I felt extremely welcomed and looked after.

The hotel location is great, a short trip into Oban and lovely to return to.

I look forward to my next trip to the Wide Mouthed Frog! Thank you Cathryn and your excellent team. A great business through and through.

Room Tip: There are some separate chalet style rooms with their own balcony which I was looking at enviously a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.9 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
448 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Oyster Inn
Oyster Inn
#3 of 8 in Connel
317 reviews
2.7 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#15 of 93 in Oban
381 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wide Mouthed Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wide Mouthed Frog

Property: The Wide Mouthed Frog
Address: Dunstaffnage Marina, Oban, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wide Mouthed Frog 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wide Mouthed Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wide Mouthed Frog Hotel Oban
The Wide Mouthed Frog Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing