We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting! !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wide Mouthed Frog
Ranked #41 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked our family over the easter weekend. The family room was a good size and clean and comfortable. Beautiful surroundings and the views at breakfast were amazing. A great value place to stay in a marina setting, nice walks and 5 min drive to Oban. Breakfast is good, it's basic but just what you need to start your day. Go and give it a try!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for The Wide Mouthed Frog
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Really clean, breakfast cooked to order and tasty. As someone who stays in hotels for business this is the best bed I have ever slept in and the room was better than any of the big named chains. Staying in or around Oban stay here.

Room Tip: Room 8 is good but room 10 has a balcony and is probably their best
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Two nights here at the end of March 2014, when we were very lucky with the weather. The rooms were excellent value for money, warm, spotlessly clean and nicely furnished - we couldn't fault them. The location is in a nice spot next to a marina, just a few minutes' drive from Oban, with lovely views from the restaurant across the water. Breakfast was generous, and they catered well for my vegetarian diet. The vegetable chilli was very good, and if you are as keen on lashings of garlic as I am, then have the garlic mushrooms starter - but keep your distance from people afterwards! The owners were lovely, very welcoming and keen to make sure everything was just right. The hotel is also dog-friendly. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank seeaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Well worth visiting. Kath (hope I have spelt your name in the right way) and Rick could not do enough to help. There were 5 of us booked in at the last minute while my sister and brother-in- law off loaded their boat. All the rooms were wonderfully clean and very comfortable. We had a fantastic dinner. There was a log burning stove in the dining room which wasn't lit but one of our party got it going for Kath. Breakfast cooked by Rick was very good and again nothing was to much bother. I missed seeing Kath and Ricks little baby as I had gone to bed but I wish them all the happiness in the world.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do not have a view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We booked for 3 days and on the first day was disapointed with the menu and the fact no specials was available. Having children there was no childrens menu at all. However that changed the next day when the head chef went on holiday and the hotel manager Rick went into the kitchen. Specials galore and a kids menu. The food was to die for. At breakfast the children did not want a cooked breakfast so Rick to everyones surprise made the kids pancakes with lots of fruit and choc. I fancied them myself, and no doubt if I had asked he would have cooked them for me. Nothing was too much bother from all the staff. We will defo return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Right on Dunstaffnage Bay, overlooking the marina and the old castle, the Wide Mouth was absolutely perfect! Our en suite room was large, comfortable and very clean. Easy driving distance to Oban. Staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Warm and friendly staff who were kind and helpful. The room was comfy with a nice view over the bay. The en suite seemed new, clean and nice. The food was very good although the ambience in the restaurant was a wee bit spoiled by there being 2 different lots of music on at the same time - one from the kitchen and one for the restaurant. We will definitely be back. It's a great base for exploring Argyle and the isles.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the marina.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.9 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
487 reviews
2.7 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,795 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oyster Inn
Oyster Inn
#3 of 8 in Connel
335 reviews
2.7 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wide Mouthed Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wide Mouthed Frog

Address: Dunstaffnage Marina, Oban, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £90 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wide Mouthed Frog 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Wide Mouthed Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wide Mouthed Frog Hotel Oban
The Wide Mouthed Frog Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing