We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wide Mouthed Frog
Ranked #42 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Enjoyed our stay here, the hotel is in a lovely setting, the chef served up wonderful food, the scallops were marvellous. Breakfast enjoyable, a little difficult to find the way to the room in the dark could do with a light as couldn't see the lock for the key.car park could be tidier but there is plenty of room which is a great plus.
The staff extremely pleasant ,, weather was good, scenery lovely all in all we will return later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denzel23cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good standard of accommodation here. Really friendly helpful staff and a great breakfast. Nicely set overlooking a marina a few kms. out of Oban, we could have stayed longer if not for the nasty weather. Watch out for the bedside tables that are set out from the wall (because of sloping ceiling). This means that my belongings fell down the back without my noticing till too far away to return. Think I'd learn!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank judith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a lovely stay here at this dog friendly and very people friendly hotel! Rooms are basic, but that is fine, food is excellent and location great. The staff were lovely and helpful, will stay here again, I hope.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mairi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A great welcome awaits you here. The rooms are dog friendly, in chalets around the car park so not very pretty but the service and friendliness plus the standard of food makes up for any lack of luxury in the rooms. The rooms are big with enquire shower and bath. A light bulb was broken when we arrived and the chef went especially into Oban for a replacement! That's the sort of service we got. On the edge of the loch, by a marina it was easy early morning dog walking. Now the food! Wow! Scallops as big as golf balls...beautifully cooked ! Black pudding to die for. The chef goes everyday for the fish so it's all very fresh. Salmon fillet fabulous. Breakfasts also good and enormous. Very good value and very cheerful staff. We loved it excellent value

Room Tip: The chalets by the road are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rufusbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Did not stay but ate here for last two nights as had moored our boat at Dunstaffnage. Food was very tasty but.......oh dear.....the service! Very young staff and far too few of them with little or no training (apart from boss / manager). Will quickly lose customers unless the service end of the business improves. FAR TOO FEW staff! Would not recommend until the staffing improves. Need training .......please!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank suskhatru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great location ,view to die for.
Very poor service , food poor , Staff complained of tiredness frequently.
Overall feeling of an amateur set up.
Rooms were ok fairly comfortable although a bit musty smelling.
would return to Oban but not this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fab1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I would highly recommend the wide mouthed frog if you're looking for a break in the Oban area. It is situated just out of Oban approx 5 minutes drive. The staff are warm and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The cooked breakfast was lovely, and the food in the evening was too, everything is cooked using fresh ingredients, and the seafood was amazing. The rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious. The icing on the cake is the location, it sits right on a quaint little harbour, where you can sit out and eat, or just relax and look at the stunning views. I will definitely be going back. Steph g.

Room Tip: The outside chalet (room 10) has a balcony, probably the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steph g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
2.9 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,088 reviews
1.9 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
837 reviews
5.1 mi away
Braeside Guesthouse
Braeside Guesthouse
#2 of 4 in Kilmore
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wide Mouthed Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wide Mouthed Frog

Address: Dunstaffnage Marina, Oban, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £89 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wide Mouthed Frog 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Wide Mouthed Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wide Mouthed Frog Hotel Oban
The Wide Mouthed Frog Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing