We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be nicer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wide Mouthed Frog
Ranked #38 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't be nicer!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Visited twice now and have had the nicest service we've had in a long time, very accommodating and helpful, food was excellent and was even brought out by the chef, it was so nice to speak to the person who'd just cooked your meal and find out about all the local ingredients! Lovely view of the marina too, perfect for lunch but you'll need to book for night time, can be very busy.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    79
    36
    22
    27
See reviews for
47
143
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were travelling to The Isle of Coll recently to stay with friends and booked a night here. We arrived around 8.45pm and went to check in. There was someone behind the bar and 2 customers at the bar. We were ignored for quite some time but then eventually she came over. There were no smiles or warm welcomes but that's not a huge deal. We asked if we could have dinner and got some conflicting messages but then the owner / chef came out and said it was fine. He was very pleasant and made us packed lunches as we wouldnt have time for breakfast.

We went and got a table for dinner and the same waitress who checked us in told us we were too late. We explained that we'd been told we could eat and she grudgingly let us sit down. We then waited 15 minutes for anyone to take a drink order or give us menus so we got our own menus and asked for drinks. OUr waitress was far from friendly with us but seemed to be having a great laugh with the table next to us. We must have upset her. Anyway, the food was decidedly average when it eventually turned up. I cant fault the room which was a good size and very clean. Most things about this place are great, the view is spectacular and the owner is lovely. Just be careful which waitress you deal with.

Room Tip: We had Room 4 which was lovely, good size room and bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

wow what can i say: Rick-Cath made our stay so enjoyable.They were very pleasant as were the staff Lorna , Luigi and James.The view is outstanding looking straight into the marina.Food wow wow and wow again worth every penny- Luigi bless him, even made a pack up for my daughter for the long journey back to Barnsley. Rooms very spacious and clean. Oban town center 10 min drive and well worth it.Visited Dunstaffnage Castle and found a lovely secluded pebbled beach which was great,had a little dip.5 minute drive. Fort William 36 mile drive from here which was beautiful.Had a trip up in the cable car which i highly recommend-views outstanding.To be honest me and my wife have fell in love with Scotland especially The Wide Mouth Frog. I can assure them i will be stopping no other place when i revisit- why search for a place to stay when i got everything i need from this lovely place.This is now my new home from home.A base to explore from. Rick - Cath and all the staff --a massive thanx xxxx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Enjoyed our stay here, the hotel is in a lovely setting, the chef served up wonderful food, the scallops were marvellous. Breakfast enjoyable, a little difficult to find the way to the room in the dark could do with a light as couldn't see the lock for the key.car park could be tidier but there is plenty of room which is a great plus.
The staff extremely pleasant ,, weather was good, scenery lovely all in all we will return later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denzel23cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good standard of accommodation here. Really friendly helpful staff and a great breakfast. Nicely set overlooking a marina a few kms. out of Oban, we could have stayed longer if not for the nasty weather. Watch out for the bedside tables that are set out from the wall (because of sloping ceiling). This means that my belongings fell down the back without my noticing till too far away to return. Think I'd learn!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a lovely stay here at this dog friendly and very people friendly hotel! Rooms are basic, but that is fine, food is excellent and location great. The staff were lovely and helpful, will stay here again, I hope.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A great welcome awaits you here. The rooms are dog friendly, in chalets around the car park so not very pretty but the service and friendliness plus the standard of food makes up for any lack of luxury in the rooms. The rooms are big with enquire shower and bath. A light bulb was broken when we arrived and the chef went especially into Oban for a replacement! That's the sort of service we got. On the edge of the loch, by a marina it was easy early morning dog walking. Now the food! Wow! Scallops as big as golf balls...beautifully cooked ! Black pudding to die for. The chef goes everyday for the fish so it's all very fresh. Salmon fillet fabulous. Breakfasts also good and enormous. Very good value and very cheerful staff. We loved it excellent value

Room Tip: The chalets by the road are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rufusbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.9 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
469 reviews
2.7 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
2.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wide Mouthed Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wide Mouthed Frog

Property: The Wide Mouthed Frog
Address: Dunstaffnage Marina, Oban, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wide Mouthed Frog 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Wide Mouthed Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wide Mouthed Frog Hotel Oban
The Wide Mouthed Frog Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing