We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glenrigh guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenrigh Guest House
Ranked #5 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Glenrigh guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and I stayed for 7 nights at the Glenrigh Guest House from Sunday 26th May to Sunday 2nd May 2013 and found the guest house very comfortable, the food excellent with a great choice at breakfast and the owners and staff both helpfull and friendly. The room we had was both spaciouse and comfortable and spotlesswith a fantastic panorama view of the sea front and across to the Islands and Mull and views of the Cal/Mac ferries leaving Oban.
The Restaraunt was spotless and the choice for breakfast was beyoned belief, the best Breakfast choice we have ever had at either a Guest House or Hotel and no problems with parking the Car outside.
All in we would thoroughly recomend this Guest House to any one and if we do go back to Oban for a Holiday we would definately stay again at the Glenrigh Guest House.

Room Tip: Book In Advance if possible as Guest House was full every Night and try and get a view facing the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    73
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
75
237
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on May 8th (I wish it was for longer!!) Having arrived into Oban and not previously booked any hotel for the night, we called Glenrigh Guest House and they had vacancies. We were in room 8 ... which looks over the bay. Unfortunately the weather was wet, windy and cold but the views made up for it! The room was huge and bed was super comfy. Breakfast was served at 8am the following day, and because we were up so early, we went up to McCraigs tower for a look before breakfast and we were the only ones there! At breakfast we were asked what we'd like to order and it was served fresh and hot! There was also a wide selection of fruits and cereals avail. All the staff members were very friendly and helpful. I really wish we had more time to stay longer. !

Room Tip: Room 8 overlooks the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadisdesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at the Glenrigh Guest house for a couple of nights, and felt very comfortable during our stay. The room was clean and spacious with a lovely view of the bay. Breakfast was excellently cooked, there was a large variety of dishes to choose from, including vegetarian options, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The parking is very good, and we felt that both our motorbikes were safe. The sherry was very welcome after a brisk walk on a cool windy day!

Room Tip: We were really glad we booked a room overlooking the bay - it was lovely to be so close to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

First time staying at Glenrigh on the way to Mull and what a lovely guest house. Room was very nice, clean and tidy and a spectacular view across the bay. Nice size room with LCD TV and complimentary WiFi internet which came in useful. The landlady was very pleasant and welcoming. The full Scottish breakfast was excellent, very filling. Home from home!
Ample off road parking. Town was just a short walk away.
Have no problem recommending Glenrigh guest house. Will stay here again in future.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room looking across the bay. Splendid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st Julians Malta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Recently stayed at the Glenrigh with 10 family members who were visiting Scotland for the first time.We all had very spacious rooms overlooking the bay.The breakfast was excellent and served with a smile.Definately when I return to Oban this will be my first choice of guest house.Thank you from all of us.

Room Tip: View of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larraine122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Weekend break. We were given a room overlooking Oban bay. The landlady and her staff go the extra mile in many ways. Lovely spacious room. The hotel is situated in a quiet part of the town within easy reach of the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ground floor side rooms have the best view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We discovered the Glenrigh about five years ago and it's become our must-stay destination.
Its location on the Esplanade is perfect and it has ample private parking and is within easy walking distance to town.
We stayed here last weekend and we had a great view from our room window of the unfortunate whale in the sound of Kerrera and Oban bay.
Glenrigh has lots of character and the rooms are spacious, comfortable and have a tasteful decor.
Iona and Gilbert are great hosts and nothing is too much bother for them.
Iona is cheerful and helpful to guests of all nationalities.
Gilbert's full Scottish breakfast is a work of art on a plate and his scrambled egg is the best I've ever tasted!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretM784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.3 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenrigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenrigh Guest House

Property: Glenrigh Guest House
Address: Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenrigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Glenrigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenrigh Guest House Hotel Oban
Glenrigh Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing