We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
358
90
27
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
90
27
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdecanter of sherryguest housethe main houseb bbreakfast was excellentbottled waterfabulous locationbeautiful roombiscuitslovely guesthousebreakfast room isfull scottishsea viewground flooron arrivaloverlooking oban bayovernight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 486 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Lovely B&B with beautiful views of the bay. Hostess was very friendly, room lovely, clean and a good size. Our stay in Oban was unplanned as we meant to head straight to Mull, but really happy we happened over this place as it gave a great way to start the holiday.

Room Tip: We were in the, what seemed, purpose built extension behind the main building. Room was plenty big enough, warm and very clean. There was even a decanter of sherry (I think its was!) that we had a well needed glass from when we arrived after a long drive. Just what we needed.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKGtoLDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed at the Glenrigh Guest House after our return from the Isle of Coll. Unfortunately it was only overnight. If I come back again it will be for a longer stay. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. The breakfast in the morning was excellent with a wide range of food available. the view from the front yard is great - ferry's coming in and out. A nice walk into center of Oban and restuarants. My wife forgot her favorite small pillow and she called and they graciously shipped it to the USA. Staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck6491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed here 2 nights at the start of a Highlands road trip in the second half of May with my daughter, using it as a base for the area and specifically, visits to Mull, Iona & Staffa. We were in room 8, which offers stunning panoramic views of the bay, super-comfy beds, great bathroom & overall excellent facilities. Everything is clean & elegant, and there are lovely little extras – sweets in the entrance hall & sherry in the room to name only two – that make the difference between "good" & "excellent". Owners Gilbert & Iona seem to have thought of everything. They are a great team, running a slick operation with pride, commitment & meticulous attention to detail. As hosts, they couldn't have been more welcoming, warm & accommodating. Nothing, it would seem, is too much trouble. On our first morning we needed to be at the ferry pier for 07:30 AM – a very early start for the highly-recommended Early Bird Special 3-Islands tour. Not only were we presented with delicious, perfectly cooked bacon & eggs & tea at 7:00 AM (a full hour before the regular breakfast service begins) but Gilbert also ran us the mile or so into town in his car so we didn't have to find all-day parking (very difficult in Oban) or call for a taxi. Yet another example of those lovely little extras. We sampled the full cooked breakfast menu on our second morning – what a delight! Super food, beautifully presented & cheerful, friendly, efficient service. I'm already looking forward to returning here next year & have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who is looking for that extra special "something" while visiting Oban.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cshergold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We booked Glenrigh for the start of our (camping trip) to the Outer Hebrides and so enjoyed it that we booked it again to celebrate the end of our holiday. We would now find it hard not to return to this high class act next time we are in Oban. As others have said, excellent, full range of breakfast choice, good parking and a short walk along the prom to the main town. Our first room in the attic (we booked late) had a lovely view at the back, but as we had been camping, Iona took pity on us and selected a room with more space and a view of the sea for our return... much appreciated. Also loved the discussions about haggis and black pudding, and as I type this one of the haggis is in the oven... just need to sort out which malt to start off with...Thank you, we will be back and hoe the weather will be as kind to us.. can't really beat a cuppa tea on the front lawn watching the ferries come in and out.

Room Tip: Room 4.. bedroom with separate sitting area and view of sea
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and I stayed for 7 nights at the Glenrigh Guest House from Sunday 26th May to Sunday 2nd May 2013 and found the guest house very comfortable, the food excellent with a great choice at breakfast and the owners and staff both helpfull and friendly. The room we had was both spaciouse and comfortable and spotlesswith a fantastic panorama view of the sea front and across to the Islands and Mull and views of the Cal/Mac ferries leaving Oban.
The Restaraunt was spotless and the choice for breakfast was beyoned belief, the best Breakfast choice we have ever had at either a Guest House or Hotel and no problems with parking the Car outside.
All in we would thoroughly recomend this Guest House to any one and if we do go back to Oban for a Holiday we would definately stay again at the Glenrigh Guest House.

Room Tip: Book In Advance if possible as Guest House was full every Night and try and get a view facing the sea you wont be disapointed
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews