We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenrigh Guest House
Ranked #3 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Guest House”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the Glenrigh for 3 nights in July. It was absolutely fantastic. The rooms were big and so clean. Breakfast was the best but too much for me to eat, the choice of food was unbelievable. We had some sherry in a decanter in our room which was wonderful. There was Tea/coffee making facilities in the room & biscuits.The view from our room was stunning. It is very quiet and the town is not far away to walk too. The Hospitality from Iona was brilliant, Thank you. We would not stay anywhere else now when we visit Oban. I cannot praise this Guest House enough. We had such an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We had room No 1 which was downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    73
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
247
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked Glenrigh having looked up reviews on this site, and it more than lived up to our expectations. The holiday was a treat for my parent-in-law's 60th Wedding Anniversary. Because they are partially disabled, the owners booked them into room 1 on the ground floor. This is a beautiful room with fantastic views. My wife and I stayed in room 9 on the first floor, which was of an equal standard and had the same view.

Throughout our stay the owners and staff were helpful. The breakfast was also excellent with a wide range of options and freshly cooked.

We thoroughly recommend Glenrigh to anyone travelling to Oban.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 or 9. They are not the cheapest, but they are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here for a night on route to Mull. The house is nice and pleasant. We stayed in room10 which was a bit musty smelling on entering. The room was dated but was clean. Breakfast was superb and the manager was very nice. Would I stay again, maybe. The location was excellent also. We paid £100 for both of us. Would probably look for something a bit more modern next time although I did enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looby02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Location:
Excellent location within 10 minutes (sea front and scenic) walk of the town centre.

Room A:
We stayed in an annex at the back of the hotel because we were travelling with a teenager and opted to use a family room. The annex rooms were nicely equipped. Proper king sizes beds provided, decent TV, well maintained furniture. And then there was the small details that showed that the owners were not only listening to their guests but were trying to foresee needs and adapt.
I saw that several other guests were senior in their years, which might explain the free sherry decanter in the room and the handrail by the toilet for gripping. I also saw that access for the infirm was made possible too. Yet at the same time, the family rooms were equipped with proper beds so both parents and children could sleep properly.
Decoration was tasteful and appropriate. The TV was of a decent size and the coffee / tea facilities were more than generous. In short, it was clear that you were important – we liked it!


Breakfast Restaurant:
Extremely high quality food served at breakfast. Again, their chef was clearly concerned with ensuring that only good food goes out to the tables. For example, the pancakes both sweet and savoury were not only perfectly cooked, but arranged in a beautiful way. Scrambled egg? Don't expect anything watery here – it will be fluffy and done to perfection. Want a full Scottish instead? All cooked perfectly. Finally, if all of that is too much, there is a broad selection of cereals cheeses and ham etc to nibble away on... Great start to the day.

Air-conditioning:
None. However, since you are on the sea front, you can expect some nice breezes to keep things cool.

Wi-fi:
Free and excellent signal. Well done with offering this service for free!

Parking:
Plenty of free spaces provided.

Room Tip: I can't imagine anything going wrong with this hotel except not booking early enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i24get
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed one night with two rooms. This B&B has loads of parking and one of the best breakfast selections we'd seen in our 7 night trip around the highlands. Very friendly serving staff. It was a pleasure to be here. Only downside was our room (12) was on the third floor and on the smaller side but the free WIFI was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckyb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here three nights in july and did the same thing last year.
Iona welcomed us warmly as usual.
The good thing about this b&b is within walking distance form town, the room ustairs have a great sea view. The beds are good and breakfast good.
I like the big size rooms with the sea view.
If you need any information about Oban, Iona will find it for you. She is the kindness herself, and it makes us come back next year as well.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I chose Glenrigh initially because of the on site parking. My partner is very keen on views and so I booked a room with a sea view. This caused me to react when we were shown to room 3 at the side of the building overlooking the car park - but it does indeed have a view over the bay.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff both friendly and efficient. The complimentary sherry was a nice touch (the whisky even better). Our room was nicely decorated and while there was a slight feeling of exposure being on the ground floor any net curtains would have spoilt the view.
Hoping to return next year and perhaps experience one of the rooms at the front of the building!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelpie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.3 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#16 of 93 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenrigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenrigh Guest House

Property: Glenrigh Guest House
Address: Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenrigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Glenrigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenrigh Guest House Hotel Oban
Glenrigh Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing