We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenrigh Guest House
Ranked #4 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The moment I walked into room number 9, it was a delight, the view was amazing. Very large room, lovely bathroom, Hugh bed,everything was unforgettable. I couldn't have wished for anything better. Thank you everybody for a lovely stay. I look forward to my return!

Room Tip: The room with sea view is a joy to behold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed it. There was plenty of parking, excellent wifi and the breakfast was fantastic. The range of foods available in the cold buffet was great and the full Scottish cooked breakfast certainly set us up for the days activities! The lady who runs the b&b and her staff were all friendly and very helpful.

Our room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the bay. The bathroom was quite new and exceptionally clean, the shower was very good. The staff cleaned the room every morning whilst we were at breakfast with ninja like efficiency!

The only things we would have liked was some facilities for smokers, and a bath in the room. But overall we very much enjoyed our stay and if we were to visit Oban again we would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie_F1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a lovely Victorian house still retaining some architectural splendour, the stair case is a fine example of the era. The stairs are a bit of a challenge with your cases if your room is on the top floor. New extensions have been added with sympathy to the bilding.
Our room was on the top floor with a good view of the Kerrera Sound, the shower room seemed to be a fairly recent intallation of very good quality and excellent standard of cleanliness. There was no road noise but there was some whistling wind noise from the window area, a light sleeper could have problems.

The breakfasts have an excellent variation of cold buffet and traditional cooked food, quality is high and you won't be hungry until your evening meal time.
Staff are very friendly and smile as the look after you, nothing is an effort to them. We were amazed to find that our room had been cleaned and prepared whilst we were at breakfast, the welcoming sherry in a decanter in our room was very much appreciated as was the sample of malt whiskey in the hall.

Easy road access and spacious parking facilities are just the icing on the cake.

We will be back to visit Scotland and the friendly hospitallity, if in Oban we would defintely stay at Glenrigh.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room, if stairs are a problem mention this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great short stay in Oban at the Glenrigh Guest House. Ample parking for all guest cars, fairly central location, lovely room with beautiful sea view, and friendly attentive staff.
Breakfast was a delight with a vast choice of food, freshly cooked and from the cold buffet.
Guest information was readily available about restaurants, places to go and things to do.
We will definitely return on our next visit to Oban.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were delighted by this hotel, more so than the other place we stayed in Oban. The building was beautiful with a grand staircase. We had an oceanview room, and the facilities were lovely. Nice shower and exceptionally good breakfast! The only downside was that the bed was a little hard, but it was very nice to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This B&B is located in a stately building on right on Oban's promenade overlooking the bay. Our family room was in the annex, so there was no seaview, but you could sleep with the window open and enjoy the fresh air. The room was clean and nicely furnished, next to the coffee and tea amenities there was Sherry offered, which is quite unique! The bathroom has a shower only, but hot water was available instantly. There's also good Wifi reception in the room.

We weren't too happy with the 2 single beds, which were on the small side and had slightly aged boxspring matresses, which you could feel everytime you turned around. The children shared a sofa bed, which was fine.

The breakfast served at Glenrigh Guest House was the best in our entire Scotland trip. Lots of choice (full Scottish, smoked salmon, sweet ot hearty pancakes) plus toast, cereals, yoghurt, toast and fresh fruit. Superb!

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex which is were the family rooms are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AilaAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The lady running the guest house was very pleasant and very helpful. There is a variety of delicious foods on offer for breakfast and always plenty of it.The rooms are very clean, spacious, tea, coffee and biscuits in room, they tidy them every day and they offer to change your towels everyday. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Glenrigh and would recommend it to everyone :-) Oban is a spectacular place to visit beautiful scenery and friendly people. Thanks for making our stay a very warm and pleasant one. k x

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
MacKay's Bed and Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#1 of 8 in Connel
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenrigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenrigh Guest House

Address: Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £108 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenrigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glenrigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenrigh Guest House Hotel Oban
Glenrigh Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing