We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL GUEST HOUSE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenrigh Guest House
Ranked #4 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL GUEST HOUSE”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A wonderful welcome from Iona the owner who intoduced us to a lovely bedroom with a view of the bay and a room with all the facilites you could need including a decanter of sherry!, & a pair of binoculars to view the boating activities..
The breakfast choice was outstanding, beautifully prepared and the staff so very friendly, and they could not do enough for you..
This will undoubtedly be our first choice for accommodation on our next visit to Oban

Room Tip: Book early and whilst views of the bay are particularly nice all the rooms, i am sure, are of a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australia2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    75
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
79
257
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Iona, our host, runs a big house and has a big personality to go with it. She fitted us in at very short notice (4 days) when our booking for another guest house, which had been arranged 12 months previously, fell through. We were not in the main house but in seperate accomodation at the rear (see photo)

This spacious room with en-suite, had more lights and double sockets than I have ever seen anywhere. If you can't do without your gadgets, this is the place to be. There was also some lovely art on the walls.
Despite being on the Esplanade, there was little traffic after 21:00 so the location was very peaceful.

My breakfast on the first day of a sweet fruit stack of pancakes was so pretty, my friend photographed it. Unfortunately she hasn't sent me the photo yet.

We didn't have any problems ringing 2 bells to attract Iona's attention. In a house that size you can't be everywhere at once. As a host, she was very helpful and friendly, as were her staff.

I have 2 minor criticisms, electric showers are good but very few deliver the pressure of a power shower, as was the case here. Also, I am used to a firm matress, but found my bed a shade too much on the firm side, as did my friend.

Would we stay there again? a resounding yes

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Very comfy and very clean and tidy. Very nice little place to stay and the owner iona is very friendly and makes you feel welcome. Very nice breakfast as well and the room was always warm and cosy. Very nicely decorated. A homely feeling and spacious and it's well worth four stars. Free cherry in the room! And for a difference a well stacked coffee tea and sugar box unlike most places you stay! Don't want to leave even though it rained for most of our visit!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Callum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was traveling with a brother in law through Scotland on a scenic, adventure getaway. We booked the Glenrigh after researching several in the Oban neighborhood. It's a little hard to find a good room with two good beds for two straight males traveling together. This one looked right for a decent price and we were NOT disappointed. We were actually put up in a small bungalow attached at back of the hotel proper, which is located right on the pier road within easy walking distance of central Oban. Other beautiful hotel buildings surround the Glenrigh. We had a nice spacious room and bathroom with excellent beds, satellite TV, in-room coffee and stable and fast Wi-Fi service free of charge. Breakfast was little short of remarkable, even by full Scottish breakfast standards. A very nice breakfast nook and an attentive staff that served us fast friendly. Probably our best hotel stay of our 10 day trip. I had a look around the main house the following morning, and can only say that couples or honeymooners would find it delightful. A highly recommended place if you're headed for Oban any time soon.

Room Tip: Easy walking distance to bars, restaurants shops and the ferry boats. I recommend the main house for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irrashimasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed two separate nights here before and after a cruise in the Inner Hebrides. Very comfortable guest-house with superb views of Oban Bay and a short walk into town and to the train station. Iona our host, looked after us very well and their breakfast was excellent. Free wi-fi and parking also available so highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

A beautiful house our room had a lovely sea view. A spacious and comfortable room with lots of nice touches. One of the best showers ever. Staff really friendly, Iona made us really welcome. A superb breakfast lots of choices and served quickly. (They had even managed to catch some haggis!). Would recommend it to anyone as a base to see Oban which is well worth a visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KayteeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed recently with my 80 yr old mother.
Twin room on ground floor very comfortable, lovely breakfast. Very friendly staff and a car park space for every room
Not a direct sea view but as soon as you step out the door or sit outside the room you get a lovely view whilst sipping the complimentary sherry, that's waiting for you!

Room Tip: Twin room useful if you have mobility problems and you can park right outside the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
418 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,727 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenrigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenrigh Guest House

Property: Glenrigh Guest House
Address: Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenrigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Glenrigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenrigh Guest House Hotel Oban
Glenrigh Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing