We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and well situated on Oban Esplanade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenrigh Guest House
Ranked #4 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value and well situated on Oban Esplanade”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with three other adult family members. A very conveniently situated guest house on the Esplanade at Oban. We had one double comfortable room at the front with a superb view of Oban harbour and two single and comfortable rooms at the back with no view. Greeted by the enthusiastic and efficient proprietor on arrival. She is a mine of information about Oban and its surroundings. The rooms are well appointed, although I did not try the decanter of sherry. Excellent breakfast every day with a large selection of cooked and cold food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBeckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    78
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
82
259
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a wonderful night on the Esplanade here in Oban. The room was near perfection - feels newly renovated, well equipped and complete with a gorgeous view of the bay and the islands. Iona, the proprietor, greeted us on arrival yesterday with a smile and a wee dram. Fully worth the AA **** (4 star) rating they've advertised out front. Can't wait to indulge in their Scotland tourist board ***** (5 start) breakfast. Yumm!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleddman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This guest house has a great view of the islands and the ocean, as its smack dab in the middle of the Esplanade strip of Oban just a short walk on a boardwalk from the main harbour and downtown core (including the famous Oban distillery). Nice big cushy rooms and baths were improved by cozy warm beds as well as a decanter of sherry and binoculars laid out in case you wanted to just have a toasty digestif and/or scan the gorgeous ocean/island panorama. Admittedly we did have the front room of the house, not sure what the other views were like. We barely saw the lady who ran the place, but it was tidy and quiet. Free parking too, but we left before we had breakfast so we missed out on something quite tasty, I reckon.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Really very good guest house. Wanted to stay again but it would appear they do well enough from on line booking to not bother with return guests. Phoned several times to the number on the Glenrigh website, the call was redirected to a mobile number. I left to 2 messages requesting a return call. We wanted a specific room. No one returned the call. I then went to Booking.com to book on line, to find I had just missed the last room. Had someone returned the call yesterday we may have been more successful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just had the best weekend in Oban staying at the Glenrigh guest house. We arrived late at night and were met by Iona who welcomed us and showed us to our room which was immaculate it was situated at the rear of the hotel and had its own private enterance which was perfect for us as we had our two young kids with us as it allowed them to play outside in the morning.
We went for breakfast in the morning and the selection and service was first class from Iona, Lisa and Laura.
Would thoroughly recommend this family run friendly guest house...... We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were a party of six stopping for the night in Oban and found the Glenrigh through the sister guest house. We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay, the rooms are decorated to a high standard, very clean and the complimentary sherry a really nice touch. The guest house is easily walkable into town and enjoys great views across the bay. Easy to find and good parking facilities. Breakfast was plentiful and offered an excellent choice. We would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GA2468Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just stopped off for a night. Did not have any reviews to stay in Oban but it just looked right. Went in spoke with Iona she allowed me to look at the available bedrooms and I was hooked.
First floor and a big picture window looking into Oban Bay, comfortable seating to admire the view and a complimentary sherry to wet my whistle. The bed was fantastic big and comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent and everyone was friendly. I will be back for longer

Room Tip: Room 9 big bed and fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,743 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
802 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenrigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenrigh Guest House

Property: Glenrigh Guest House
Address: Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenrigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glenrigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenrigh Guest House Hotel Oban
Glenrigh Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing