We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
394
99
33
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
99
33
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house decanter of sherry the main house breakfast was excellent fabulous location beautiful room ground floor breakfast room is on arrival lovely guesthouse wee dram bottled water full scottish sea view overlooking oban bay town centre little touches
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Iona greeted us with very warm welcome. She let us know right away that her house was our house. Our room was great- so roomy and cosy. We had a separate sitting room in addition to the bedroom. Breakfast was delicious with many choices.
Glenrigh is conveniently located just a short walk to all the shops and restaurants.
The final topper is the sherry in the room- nice touch! We will recommend to all our friends.
Thank you Iona!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

I can only assume that our experience differs to so many because we ended up in a newly? built extension, and because we have just come off a run of truly excellent accommodation.

First up, it was warm, and the water pressure was good. The building looks lovely from the outside, and the position is good. Good access to the carpark

We were stuck in room 3. It is probably easier to list the issues in point form
* This room had been fitted out diy. The bathroom trades are a disgrace. I work in the industry and if any professional did work like this, you would fire them. Grout and paint all over the place, but somehow unfinished
* The cushions had a lipstick and coffee stain
* The bed is atrocious. I was not aware you can get a bed this hard. A good size, but absolutely no give at all. I had to check out was actually a mattress
* At 11pm at night, we heard keys in the door and it was opened with a brief knock as it opened (did not knock and wait for us to attend). The owners had decided to let themselves in to check some issue with a fire alarm (there was none), and the faintest of apologies. My wife had just gotten to sleep and was woken up. Best case scenario you forgot anyone was in the room
* Breakfast was a mixed bag. The waiter was good, he was very professional. The pastries were all the cheapest available store bought options, served in the bag. No butter, just 'fat spread'. The cooked Scottish style breakfast was terrible, but to be fair, the pan cakes with fruit were truly good.
* Lots of really blunt printed paper signs everywhere like "no eating takeaway in the rooms. WILL be enforced etc". Had no intention of doing so, but not very welcoming

For the amount you pay, this REALLY should be much better. Make sure you are not put in room 3 downstairs. It is horrible.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank StatlerOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We are staying for a couple of nights before moving on to the Outer Hebrides. What a find! We were in room number 2 overlooking the sea front and the boats going too and fro. Well appointed, huge amount of space, lovely little touches of a decanter of Sherry, a mini fridge with bottles of water, decent shower and the bed! So, so comfortable. The car park is a decent size and outside in the sunniest areas, there are seats where we sat in the sunshine each evening with a glass of wine - different types of glasses provided! Yes....sunshine! Breakfast is to die for in terms of choice, freshly cooked, delivered with a smile.
I can’t speak highly enough of Iona and her staff. The chambermaid even snuck in to clean and tidy our room whilst we had breakfast so we didn’t come back to carnage. It’s the little things that matter, and Iona has got those right.
Fabulous place and the best b&b we’ve ever had the privilege to stay in.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tinaandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

We stayed in this small hotel for two nights while in Oban. The staff were very helpful. They have a dedicated parking lot. We were in one of the rooms with a view to the bay. The view was beautiful. It is a slight walk to town.

Room Tip: The bay view rooms are beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoeOct1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We agonized over deciding which guest house to stay at in Oban. We could not have picked a better place. The rooms #1 and #14 were huge with front facing water views. The breakfast was delicious and it was hard to make a choice. Oban is a scenic seaside village with all the charm you expect from a trip to Scotland. The Glenrigh waterfront views make it hard to leave your room. Say hi to Iona for us when you check in.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ArdentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews