We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornloe Guest House
Ranked #22 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here for one night last Friday. Was contacted by the owner by email a few days before our stay as they would be away on our estimated time of arrival. It was offered to leave a key behind for us, but as we wanted to leave the car and look around it was no problem at all for us. We had room 7 on the top floor with a great view over Oban. Lots of space in the room, and separate living room area. Breakfast in the morning was hearty indeed with a good choice. We certainly didnt leave hungry! Was very happy with the stay and would definitely choose to stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank goldengraham99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights in late July and it was just wonderful. We had rooms 5 and 6 (which has an especially magnificent view of Oban), which were spotless. Great location as well - just a very short and pleasant walk and you're in downtown Oban. We loved the breakfasts and Alan and Val were very helpful in providing directions when needed. They couldn't have been nicer. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we visit Oban, (which will hopefully be sooner rather than later).

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank amraxyz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We found Thornloe online. It was just as described in the website. Lovely house, our room was a good size and spotlessly clean, the en suite was well equipped and again spotlessly clean. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. Valerie was friendly and helpful but not over the top. Would definitely recommend and we will return if staying in Oban again.

Room Tip: The view from the sea facing rooms is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corriganfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I booked a last-minute, one-night stay at Thornloe in early April. I arrived early, but my host was very nice and allowed me to check in early. She was super friendly and willing to help. My room was small but nice. I enjoyed my stay here except that my room was very cold. I had the heater turned up full blast, but it didn't seem to warm the room at all. My host ensured that I had the heater working properly and commented that "I don't know what you're used to", which was a little dismissive. Otherwise, the accommodations were lovely. The breakfast the next morning was great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just back after another great break. This is our 4 th year at this guest house it is really a great place to stay great food lovely views and very central to the town centre 2 min walk. Alan and val make us very welcome each year and we have a good catch up on what we've all been doing As every year when we return there always some thing new has been done to the house. We eat at the pizza at the north pier it's fantastic . There are great view from the large windows so you can watch the boats come and go. The staff are very nice and make you welcome and nothing is a bother to them even when it's really busy. Oban is a great place to visit. As plenty to do there.

Room Tip: Room. No2 has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoobydoo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Would highly recommend this guest house that my son and i stayed at. We had a very warm welcome and was made to feel at home straight away. Our room was gorgeous and spacious with a very clean,modern en suite shower room. Beds were very comfy,tea and coffee facilities were excellent. The view from our room was breath taking looking over Oban bay,it was a beautiful scene when waking up in the morning.Our breakfast was fantastic with good size portions and a good choice on breakfast menu. The garden was lovely to sit in, again with a beautiful view looking over Oban. We will definately be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Thornloe was a wonderful place to stay. The room was fine, the bed comfy, the breakfasts delicious, and the view from the dining room was something else altogether, looking out across Oban bay towards Kerrera.Had the weather been more clement, we could have eaten our breakfast outside, on the decking overlooking the bay, but the view was fine anyway. The position is great; a bit up from the town centre- you need to be fit to manage the walk up, but still nice and central.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Strathnaver Guest House
0 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
0 mi away
Heatherfield House
Heatherfield House
#21 of 94 in Oban
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
High Cliff Guest House
0.6 mi away
Briarbank Guest House
0.3 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornloe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornloe Guest House

Address: Albert Road, Oban PA34 5EJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £64 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornloe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House with Stunning Views across to Mull. Situated on a hill less than 5 minutes to George Street the main street in Oban. 4 of our 7 en suite rooms have sea views. Thornloe is strictly non smoking throughout house and grounds. Children over 11 welcome. 7 en suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thornloe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornloe Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing