We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Corriemar Guest House
Ranked #55 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Having decided to book accommodation at very short notice, Corriemar had a vacancy. The hotel was on the Esplanade and only a very short walk from the town centre. The accommodation was a twin room, ensuite, very pleasant and spotlessly clean. The cost which was very reasonable included breakfast. The breakfast was good with self-service for starters, i.e. cereal, yogurts, fruit etc, the cooked breakfast was selected the evening before and ready for you in the morning, it was accompanied by tea or coffee and toast. The hosts were very friendly. We did not spend much time indoors, however it did have a lounge for use by residents and there was a television in the rooms if required.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties request a lower level room as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donra, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to meeting you both again at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

My friend and I had booked to spend two nights in Corriemar, on 20th & 21st April 2014. When I called to make the reservation I spoke to Mr Billy Russell who was pleasant and charming, he was helpful, chatty and was able to share information about ferries to the islands and his warm and friendly nature made us even keener to visit Oban and stay in this Guest House.

Sadly, on 19th April I experienced a family bereavement, which was as a result of a tragic accident at my home in Ireland. Shortly after I heard this news and made arrangements for travel home, I contacted the telephone number listed on the website for Corriemar. Mrs Sandra Russell answered and when I explained the circumstances, and apologized for having to cancel, Mrs Russell merely stated "there is a £10 charge'. Her manner was rude and dismissive and while I have no problem paying the £10 charge, I found her attitude to be cold.

It is most unfortunate that this has possibly left the hosts with a vacant room over a holiday weekend, however the circumstances were completely outwith my control and I did apologize for this inconvenience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
7  Thank Mairead C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corriemar, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello and thanks for taking the time to review us.

We were very sorry to hear of your bereavement when you called and hope that time is healing as best it can.

As with most accommodation and holiday providers we advise our guests to take out the appropriate holiday insurance because as we all know, we can never foresee what’s around the corner and we can avoid any upset over holiday cancellations and lost payments.

If you make it back to Oban it would be great to see you.

Best wishes from all of us at Corriemar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

A delightful, well run B. & B. Choc full of nick -nacks in every available nook! Clean and well appointed. We had a two night stay and were very comfortable. The view of Oban Harbour was spectacular from our window. We had the room that featured in the ad! A great place to stay when starting a trip to Mull or the Hebrides. Our hostess was very welcoming and the breakfasts were excellent.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marydelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donra, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and enjoying our house, we hope we will meet you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My new wife and I selected Oban for our honeymoon, and booked a room at the Corriemar with a panoramic sea view via the bay window, from which we could happily have sat and watched the comings-and-goings of the ferries all day.

Apart from one night when another couple were staying, we effectively had the place to ourselves. The couple who run the establishment are very friendly, down-to-earth sorts, and despite what the minority of negative reviews would have you believe, nothing is too much trouble for them. Communication and common sense goes a long way!

Breakfasts were excellent; for something that wee bit different, I can highly recommend the Piquant Fishcakes.

The room was spotless, and traditionally furnished, with a large and comfortable bed. The en-suite for this particular room was clean and functional, if on the small side, with space for only a wash basin, toilet and shower cubicle; however there is the option to use the larger private bathroom across the hall should you so desire. Visiting in early March, the room could become cold, however the provision of two convector-type heaters ensured it could be suitably warmed within a perfectly respectable amount of time.

Ignore the handful of negative reviews; anyone arriving at Corriemar without bringing with them a severe attitude problem should find it hard to beat on any count.

Room Tip: Room 6 for a panoramic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royale431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donra, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thanks for those kind words, we hope we will meet you both again soon and that married life is going well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Lovely comfortable room with 2 queen sized beds and a great view out across the bay. Just a short walk along the seafront to the centre of town and the ferry terminal. Great location for a trip to the islands. Delicious breakfasts in a dining room with a view. Oban is a lovely place to visit and the Corriemar experience is an added bonus.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donra, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Diane, thank you for your kind words and we hope it won`t be too long before you get back to Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We arrived in Oban on the evening of 14th October 2013 the first night of our honeymoon and drove along the esplanade looking for a place to stay. When we tried the Corriemar the owner showed us a couple of rooms on the top floor which were both delightful and unique. The smaller of the two rooms contained a four poster bed and the larger room was furnished with a large bed and a chaise-long and had a bay window with super views overlooking Oban Bay and the Island of Kerrera.

The house is full of charming knick-knacks and antiques and the owners were very friendly. The bed was very comfortable and we had a fantastic breakfast. This is a first class guest house in a stunning location.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the sea are worth it for the fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donra, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We are delighted you both had such a wonderful time at the Corriemar and we hope you are both enjoying married life. We look forward to meeting you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of August with friends. The location is ideal with a flat and pleasant walk round the bay into town. We had asked for sea view rooms and the views did not disappoint. We had a four poster bed in our room with a view of the bay from the bed. The sitting room similarly had great views. I take the point made by other reviewers that there are lots of knick knacks on display. Personally I found this charming as it reminded me of how my mother decorated our home. The house was clean and the dining room had a nice atmosphere. There was plenty of fruit at breakfast, but the sausages were not to my taste and the poached eggs on top of the potato scone made it soggy. The house lacked some touches that have given other b and bs an edge e.g. toiletries in the shower room were ordinary, the coffee served at breakfast was instant and the fruit juice was a bit strange.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckiebrogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,840 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#13 of 94 in Oban
505 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ards House
Ards House
#4 of 8 in Connel
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corriemar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corriemar Guest House

Address: 6 Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £56 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Corriemar Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on Oban's Sea front, Corriemar House is an outstanding Guest House with panoramic views across the sea. Our 14 spacious guest rooms are individually designed, each offering something different, be it a grand Four Poster or a Super King size room with full views across Oban bay. Parking and Wifi is complimentary at Corriemar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Corriemar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corriemar Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing