We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathnaver Guest House
Ranked #34 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have stayed here many times and from the beginning have always been impressed with the friendly welcome in this professionally run establishment. The rooms are very comfortable with plenty hot water and all the things one would expect in a B &B plus more.
Breakfast has a good choice, with some self service for cereals, juice, yoghurt & cheese. Hot food is freshly cooked to order. I would certainly recommend the porridge with its little jug of cream - beautiful. Food is presented well too.
Delightful lounge with views out to the Bay, where you can see the ferries arriving & departing. An added bonus is the free parking for many cars - I've never had a problem parking here.
Irene & John will welcome you & ensure you have a marvellous stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaybabeglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Highly impressed- spacious and very clean rooms and excellent choice at breakfast. Irene and John are the perfect hosts- they make you feel at home and even offered us a lift into town when it was raining!
Exactly what you want/ need when staying in a B&B. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Have stayed here for a number of years and it keeps getting better and better. Highly recommend the Strathnaver and have done so on many occasions. Irene and John can't do enough to help. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGrassick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A warm and hospitable place to stay. Irene & John made us most welcome, the room was just right for our needs, a lovely view over the bay and close to the town for eating out. The guest lounge was spacious. Very happy to recommend this place to anyone travelling through or staying at Oban, we will certainly stay again on our next trip. The little extras and personal touch and advice was most appreciated by my wife and I. Parking is easy to access and with heavy luggage, John was most obliging in getting us settled in. Breakfast choice was a fine start for a long day of travelling.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Strathnaver for a short break away. We have been to Oban many times and never stayed here so thought we would give it a try. The guesthouse is in a great location, 2 mins walk to the town centre. The owners are lovely and very welcoming and the room was spotless with a beautiful view over the bay. Breakfast was great also. No complaints at all and would definitely stay here again! Thanks !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leezl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I was very impressed with the Strathnaver. Our room was pleasantly decorated with all flat surfaces left empty for OUR belongings - what a rarity! And there was plenty of surface space in our bathroom to put toilet bags on (also a rarity). Our room was quiet and the beds were also quiet (they aren't always) and were very comfortable (I am a poor sleeper so that's important to me). Breakfast was good and cooked to order and set us up for the day. As we were off to the Ferry and it was pouring with rain and we were car-less, John took us down to the terminal. Thank you John.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELISABETH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Strathnaver is the best b/b we have used in oban. Irene&john are warm and friendly people who make you so welcome. our room was spotless and had a nice view of the bay(room 6).there is a fine choice for breakfast. Irene was very helpful and pleasant to all the guests. We stayed four nights and will be returning for sure. James&Marie.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scary247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
4.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maridon Guest House
Maridon Guest House
#32 of 94 in Oban
104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Don Muir Guest House
Don Muir Guest House
#26 of 94 in Oban
119 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#1 of 8 in Connel
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathnaver Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathnaver Guest House

Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £58 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm highland welcome awaits you from John and Irene MacKay who have run the guest house since 1990. The house is situated on the main A85 road and stand in its own grounds with the front overlooking Oban Bay. The town centre, ferry, rail and bus and restaurants are all within easy walking distance. There is excellent free parking for all guests' vehicles. Free Wi Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Strathnaver Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathnaver Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing