We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Strathnaver Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathnaver Guest House
Ranked #37 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Killarney, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at Strathnaver in late June this year.
What a wonderful stay. Clean lovely room, wonderful breakfast , Irene even supplied me with bananas ( which I normally eat every morning).
It is placed perfectly, quiet and yet a short walk into the wonderful town of Oban.
A perfect place to stay for a few days to enable you to do all the things that are to do in Oban.
Could not recommend it more highly.
Made our stay in the town perfect.

Room Tip: Your heart will let you know when you view the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    25
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
50
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A great stay in a well situated B and B with views of the sea from our bedroom and the dining room. Our room was sunny, spacious and comfortable. We were a short walk from the centre of Oban. A big plus was the plentiful parking around the house. Irene's breakfasts were excellent, and we were offered great advice on places to visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had a wonderful stay with a warm and pleasant welcome. The rooms are clean large and well decorated. Good and plentiful breakfast. The guest house is only a short and pleasant walk from Oban center. All in all strongly recommended!

Irwin, Strasbourg

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Well located Oban B&B, away from the traffic and bright lights (relative for this part of the world!) of the centre, but only ten mins walk. Loads of parking, wifi, comfy rooms (no baths), fine cooked breakfast, warm welcome from owner Eileen.

Not the most characterful of buildings, but for the price I think it's great. If we're ever back (fingers crossed) I can't see why you'd stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hells1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton ,England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights at this excellent B&B in Oban from 6th to 11th June. The owners, Irene and John couldn't do enough for us and their knowledge and suggestions for trips, routes etc etc were spot on. Our double en suite room, number 6 was at the front on the first floor with a great view of the boats and ferries entering the harbour. My wife loved being able to sit at the window seat watching the CalMac ferries come and go.
As with all B&B the breakfasts should set you up for the day, Irene and John's certainly do that , with cereals, fruit, porridge, full Scottish breakfast, endless toast etc it meant that we only needed a midday tea and cake, before having an evening meal in town. It is a brief 2 minute walk down to the harbour, in fact the slightly blurred picture is of the Strathnaver taken from the ferry.
The Starthnaver has an excellent guest lounge with great views down to the sea, comfy chairs and a large TV if your bedroom one isn't big enough!!, (see other review) . There is wi-fi access throughout the house.
Would we return? If or should I say when we go back the Starthnaver would be the first place we would try to book in to.
Holiday tip: book for the 3 Islands tour of Mull, Staffa and Iona, an excellent if tiring day out.

Room Tip: Room 6 is en suite, and has great views of the ferries coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riviman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely, three day stay at Strathnaver. Our hosts were very warm and accommodating and went out of their way to be helpful. The B&B is convenient to the town center and breakfast was delicious.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed there late May 2014.
Room clean and neat. no faults.Well perhaps the Tv was too small to view from the bed. Breakfast good. Boiled eggs are a difficult breakfast to cook, because you cannot see them. Well executed. Chatting with the owner on leaving, he asked what I was doing in the area. I told him I was supplying a certain shop downtown with some funky things.
when I was in said shop an hour later, the shop phone rings. 'Yes, he is still here, I will tell him'.
It turns out I left my washbag in the bathroom.
Thanks, John, for going the extra mile to let me know. appreciated.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HughJarseScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#16 of 93 in Oban
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roseneath Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
0.6 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#67 of 93 in Oban
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oban Youth Hostel
Oban Youth Hostel
#4 of 19 in Oban
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathnaver Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathnaver Guest House

Property: Strathnaver Guest House
Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm highland welcome awaits you from John and Irene MacKay who have run the guest house since 1990. The house is situated on the main A85 road and stand in its own grounds with the front overlooking Oban Bay. The town centre, ferry, rail and bus and restaurants are all within easy walking distance. There is excellent free parking for all guests' vehicles. Free Wi Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Strathnaver Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathnaver Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing