We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and charming B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roseneath Guest House
Ranked #37 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Sarah and her son were very earnest and kind. Room 9 had a splendid view of city rooftops and the harbour. The mattess and furniture were on the worn side, but the overall atmosphere was warm, homey and charming. The blueberry pancakes for breakfast were yummy and fluffy. Sarah wrapped one up for me, and it hit the spot later in the day when we were on the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabalaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spent two nights and had a large clean room with a great view of the Harbour. The room even had a separate sitting area which was very useful as I was staying for business. There was a good choice on the breakfast menu, with a ‘full Scottish' freshly cooked and superb black-pudding. Very friendly owner who is happy to help, chat and advise on the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Roseneath is a comfy Victorian house with a very cheerful atmosphere. It retains lots of original features displaying modern decoration. Sitting on a hill my room had a spectacular view of Oban bay and the hills and isles beyond. Sarah, our host who is an artist, is very welcoming and helpful. Her knowledge of the local area seems endless. Breakfast is good and vegetarians are well catered for. There is ample off-street parking. Although Rosedene is close to the town and ferry port there are plenty of good footpaths and woodlands close by to walk the dogs. Yes, the dogs were made very welcome too.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just had a very pleasant stay at Roseneath in Oban. We were given a very warm welcome and our room (9) was very comfortable and had a fantastic view of the isle of mull and the Oban bay. Sarah is a fantastic host and very accommodating to all your needs. Breaks fast was freshly cooked and nothing was too much trouble. Would deffinatley recommend as this B&B is in a prime location close to the town centre although all of Oban is on a hill.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank wennortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Despite getting off to a rough start - we arrived at about 6pm and the hosts had no notice of our booking - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Once our booking was confirmed as accurate, it was all hands on deck to have our room readied and we were in within half an hour, and enjoying our complimentary chocolates!
Our room had a beautiful view of town and the isles beyond.
The location is brilliant, just a short walk down to the heart of town and just a short walk up to McCaigs Tower.
Breakfasts - you get a choice - are wonderful.
The only minor detail is that the bathroom is quite small and towels could do with updating but overall, this is a lovely B&B.
Also, if you book on the date of your travel, call ahead to confirm your stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I recently returned to this guest house with my elderly Mother, having had a great time before and finding nothing had changed. The welcome was warm and friendly, the food was excellent and of the best quality, the rooms were modern and very clean with all mod cons. After the first night I returned to my car to find that it had a flat battery, My fault for leaving my portable cool box plugged in, no problem to Sarah and her son Robert who produced a set of jump leads and I was mobile again in minutes.
I can only recommend this establishment to anyone visiting Oban, they will not be disappointed in any way, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front, the views are superb overlooking Oban Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highmmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I booked a room for 2 nights for me and my partner. Sara the lady who welcomed us (I suppose she is the owner and she is the only staff member we saw during our stay) very kindly. The roomw was nice even though not very large. Sara was very available to give informations and tips on what to see and do. Guest house is 5 minute walk from the pier. Breakfast had to be booked in advance, absolutely recommended the scottish breakfast with a delicious black pudding. Would definetly come back on a future stop in Oban!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giuglietto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
4.2 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Cliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#13 of 94 in Oban
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
0.2 mi away
Strathnaver Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseneath Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseneath Guest House

Address: Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £47 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roseneath Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roseneath is a Victorian terraced house with superb views over Oban bay and the islands beyond, on a clear day you can see Duart castle on Mull. We are a family business and welcome our guests into our home. Our aim is comfort, good food, service and information. We help our guests find places to visit,the restaurants and food they like and how to get the most from their stay in Oban ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Roseneath Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roseneath Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing