We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthornbank Guest House
Ranked #18 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What a great place to start our holiday! A beautiful room with a great view, friendly knowledgable hosts and terrific facilities.
Morven and her husband (and dog!) made us so welcome and we are looking forward to staying here again.
Perfect location for walking into town and Morven's restaurant tips were spot on.
You will not regret booking this place!

Room Tip: The sea view really is worth it. Seeing Mull appear from the mist in the morning was magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Top B and B! We had the regency room with the four poster which was both comfortable and cute. Morven the owner could not have been more helpful and was friendly but not intrusive. She offered to bring us fresh milk for our tea which is a sign of someone who knows what tea drinkers like, and much appreciated. There was a wonderful sea view from the giant window and we could see the ferries gliding across, apparently skimming the tops of the houses. Near the swimming pool for a rainy day, and plenty of restaurants. Great breakfasts with plenty of choice .

Room Tip: The four poster bed and sea view are worth booking but this place fills fast so don't leave it t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grainnemhaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed with Morven for two nights on our trip around Scotland. It is a beautiful property over looking the Oban harbor. A very short walk to all the local spots - Tower, Town Center, Restaurants, Tesco, the Dock. We left our car parked and walked everywhere. Morven has some good restaurant recommendations also so don't be afraid to ask!

We had different rooms each night (since we decided to stay an extra night later on in the planning stage and the same room was not available for the 2nd night). The first night was room #4, the second night was room #5. Both were very comfortable and very nicely decorated. We loved the snacks that were provided. Room #5 faced the front of the house which provided for a great view of the harbor. Although the front rooms do get hot with the sun shining in, so make sure to close the curtains if you have a front room.

The breakfast process was very organized as well. You are given a sheet to place your breakfast order the night before. You can choose from continental or cooked options.

All in all, this was a great, enjoyable place to stay. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OmairKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Excellent stay with Morven and Robert as hosts. Had the Regency Room with a four-poster bed and stunning views overlooking Oban Harbour. Only a short walk to the town. Clean, comfy room with all amenities and wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank robbieM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Superb location with a view above the roofs of Oban To the Firth and the isles beyond - especially stunning as the sun drops adding colour to the moored yachts and harbour.
The location, although elevated above the town, was in reality, only 5 minutes away walking down a lane from the front garden

Our room (6) was spacious and comfortable with an en suite toilet and shower; the wash hand basin was, unusually, in the actual bedroom set into a roomy washstand with a granite top - lots of space for my wife's lotions and potions. The room was attractively decorated and furnishings/carpeting were in good condition. There was no noise from neighbouring rooms but a bit of activity from above with noisy floorboards - a penalty with this type of accommodation. Our only criticism was the absence of a toilet brush - should be there for hygiene.

Morven was the perfect hostess - always cheerful and smiling with a ready joke. Breakfast was ordered the previous evening and proved to be well prepared and filling; but how I hate those portion control condiment and preserve sachets. Well done, Morven, on providing sweetners - not many places do.
Well done, guys, a really great, great place to stay.

Room Tip: Request sea facing to catch those stunning sunsets and watch activity in the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bergview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the guest house. Morven, Robert and dog Bonnie were excellent hosts. Their attention to detail to make our stay enjoyable was exemplary.
The guest house is in a very convenient location with a short stroll down a lane way to the town centre. Oban and the guest house was a very beautiful place to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Meridith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have stayed here 3 times now. What a great find. A reasonably priced B&B with decent parking is hard to find in Oban, but this has free off road parking which is a bonus. Morven is so friendly and makes you feel welcome from the minute you arrive. The house is beautifully decorated and the rooms are lovely, with great attention to detail. All the little extras, such as a bowl of sweets, bottled water, hand lotion, herbal tea - the list goes on. The breakfast is perfect. So much choice, with fresh fruit, croissants, yogurts, and a list of cooked breakfast choices. Nothing is too much bother, and Morven makes it a very relaxing experience. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMPINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.1 mi away
Greystones
Greystones
#10 of 94 in Oban
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
0.6 mi away
High Cliff Guest House
0 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthornbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthornbank Guest House

Address: Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £64 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthornbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthornbank Guest House is a delightful Victorian villa built in 1873. It is pleasantly situated in a slightly elevated position, nd have many rooms with spectacular views of Oban bay. We are close to Oban town centre yet in a quiet residential setting. There is off-street parking and a footpath leads from the front garden towards the town. We have facilities for bicycles and welcome cyclists. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthornbank Guest House Hotel Oban
Hawthornbank Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing