We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay at the Glenroy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenroy Guest House
Ranked #27 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Second stay at the Glenroy”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just returned home from another visit to Oban. We were so glad we rebooked at the Glenroy! Wendy Hugh remembered us, which was nice, and really made us feel welcome. The room was really quiet so we slept well and the bed was really comfy. A great b&b!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlosandratchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    37
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
75
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The first impression of the B & B was a good one: Free parking (very useful if you are travellinh by car) right next door to the hotel entrance and a warm welcome by Wendy (we met Hugh only in check out). Unfortunately, this is where good news end: At first, we were given an attic room on the top floor. This is probably the smallest room you will ever stay in a B & B, in fact it is not a 'whole' room but it was probably an attic that was separated to become a room for guests, however if you are of normal height you can't even stay next to the bed. I don't believe that this is supposed to be a double room (it is small enough even for single occupancy) but still we were charged for a double room. Additionally, the room is very basic and the problem was that there was a strange smell (especially in the bathrooom) which did not smell like cleanliness, let's say... The bed was the first I have seen in many many years that did not have a separare sheet, but there was a duvet (seemed old enough) directly resting on the bed. Breakfast was OK, but still I consider it far more expensive for what we got and was probably the worst B & B that I have ever stayed in. I don't know if the other rooms are better, newer, more spacious or more tastefully decorated, but definitely avoid the rooms on the top floor!

Room Tip: Definitely avoid the room on the top floor - attic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maikol77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaighAoigheachd, Owner at Glenroy Guest House, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Hi there. At last we have time to answer some of our reviews. We were particularly sad to read your review of your experience here at Glenroy. We pride ourselves on doing our best to make everyone's stay here a good experience. Helping with any arrangements as and when needed. Some of our rooms are bigger than others but having said that some of our guests have asked for the attic rooms because they find they sleep better because it is quieter. General comments from guests, when the size of the room is mentioned, have been that all they need is a comfortable bed for the night and a good breakfast in the morning, which is what they have had.
As for the duvet having no sheet, generally you will find most people don't put extra sheets on the bed because like us the cover is replaced with a clean one every time a guest checks out.
We do taken all our reviews seriously. Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very pleasant stay at this B & B with its own parking, and Wendy and Hugh were very friendly and helpful. Good location to walk into Oban, and to visit the surrounding area. Nice clean rooms with good facilities and a T.V. in each room. Excellent breakfast in pleasant dining room. and well catered for vegetarians.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porsgrunn, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

B&Bs just continue to suprise me with the hospitality the owners show. And Glenroy was no exception. Wendy and Hugh has the genuine helpful attitude towards strangers like me. Breakfast was delicious and I had my first Haggis ever.
The location was close to the city center and just below the "McCaig tower" so it was easy to find the way back after a late evening visit to the local pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jostein B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Wendy and Hugh were extremely friendly and made a genuine effort to make sure that we were comfortable. We arrived late, and got some excellent dinner recommendations off them. They were also able to cater for my friend who was a vegetarian, and kept that in mind while recommending a restaurant to us for dinner! It was a pleasure to stay at Glenroy - if they have rooms available, don't look elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radioactivenerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

From check-in to check-out, Wendy and Hugh made our stay enjoyable. If they didn't know about something, they would find out for us. The location is close enough to the town center to be convenient, but removed enough to be quiet. Breakfasts were wonderful. Hugh makes the best porridge ever! I am not a good walker, but was able to make the climb up the hill from town with just a couple of rest stops along the way. Well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaighAoigheachd, Owner at Glenroy Guest House, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Hello. Thank you so much for your kind words in your review of Glenroy. It was great meeting you both. I'm with you on the hill thing it's worth the incline for the peace and quite. We are glad you enjoyed Hugh's porridge, we now have a fledgling blackbird who Hoovers up any spare porridge we have. Better her than me!!!!!! All the best and hope to meet you again sometime.
Wendy and Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were made very welcome, Very comfortable room, a good breakfast including lovely stawberries and fruit salad, and the bonus of a small car park, and is close to the town. Everything you need is there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaighAoigheachd, Owner at Glenroy Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you Ann M for your review. We are pleased to hear that you were comfortable here. We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again some time in the future. Enjoy the rest of the summer. Very best wishes,
Wendy and Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
#31 of 93 in Oban
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#15 of 93 in Oban
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glenview Guest House
Glenview Guest House
#48 of 93 in Oban
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tanglin B&B
Tanglin B&B
#76 of 93 in Oban
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenroy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenroy Guest House

Property: Glenroy Guest House
Address: Rockfield Road, Oban PA34 5DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenroy Guest House is an elegant Edwardian House situated in one of the most scenic locations in Scotland overlooking Oban bay. The house is owned and run by Wendy and Hugh and prides itself on its friendly and warm atmosphere, comfort, and high level of personal service. The house is situated above the town centre and only a four to five minute walk to all local amenities including shops restaurants trains & ferry terminals. Glenroy has its own private off road parking and free Wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenroy Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing