We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made very welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenroy Guest House
Ranked #27 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I spent a night here this week to get away from all the building work that was going on at home. Wendy and Hugh made us very welcome. Our main aim was to catch up on some sleep and with that in mind Hugh recommended the attic room which was lovely and quiet with coombed ceilings which gave it a bit of character. They even left us a sandwich and fruit salad at the door (by prior arrangement) as we didn't think we'd make it to breakfast. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless.

10/10 for service. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventure_Doll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is a friendly guest house, very clean and well kept. The rooms are small, though, bedrooms and public areas, and not all are en suite. There is a very small car park but enough parking on the street so this isn't a problem. On a very steep hill, but otherwise not too difficult a walk to the centre of Oban and you can also walk to McCaig's Tower easily.

Room Tip: Check you have en suite facilities.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank The-big-gals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The glenroy was a lovely b&b. We booked via the website and had already prepaid (£70 for two people b&b).
The owners Hugh and Wendy were lovely and very accommodating.

Room was quiet, bed was comfy (maybe a little short for me being 6'2'') but i still slept ok. We had the downstairs double. With en-suite (a little cramped), but our shower was across the hall..........this didn't worry us at all we were provided with robes for the purpose of getting a shower. Room had a wardrobe, dresser with mirror and usual kettle with coffee and tea sugar etc etc.

There is a guest lounge with larger tv and some books and leaflets to help decide what to do.

The dining room was nice, you had a great selection of foods for breakfast, yogurts, cereal, fry, toast etc etc. Also had tea coffee and fruit juice available.

There is off street private parking holds approx 6/7 cars............being a biker i always scope out the parking. You could safely park at the rear of the parking area and no one would ever pass any remark on the bikes, you are also about 5-10mins walk from town center so bikes are safe already. (If you are taking a motorcycle a side stand puck/small piece of wood is need for the side stand and the parking is pink stones/pebbles.)

Would stay again!!

Room Tip: higher floors get a view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wooger87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have stayed at the Glenroy for the last 4 nights and we love it here. The owners, Wendy and Hugh couldn't be friendlier--it makes such a difference. The Glenroy has been full and the other guests we've met have been a mixed but happy bunch as well. The "Glenroy" is very alive indeed.

The highlight of the day here would have to be breakfast. For me the feature here was Hughs Porridge. He uses stoneground oats and soaks them the night before and yes it is the best I have eaten. Maybe he was having us on but he reckons you have to stir it frequently and clockwise--the Scots do take their porridge seriously. So does that mean because we're from Australia we have to stir it counter clockwise! In the end nearly everyone at breakfast had porridge. The fruit salad was the best I've had outside the tropics and that includes plenty of nice hotels, but get there close to 8AM as it gets picked over quickly. They also pretty much everything including all the traditional dishes of black pudding and haggis and eggs any way you want them. They even managed to get some gluten free bread for me which was much appreciated.

There's plenty of chatter at breakfast and we discovered anything you want to know about where to go or what to do around Oban is usually known by one of the guests or Wendy or Hugh.
We stayed in room 3 which has a a lovely bay window and a partial view of the township and the sea beyond. The Glenroy is 5 minutes walk to town but be warned--if you're unfit the hill coming back up from town will give you a workout. Most guests however, used it as a form of exercise, as did we.

It's only a 3 star guesthouse so the rooms aren't huge and the bathrooms a little awkward but it's a place we grew to love due in large part to the enthusiasm of the new owners and the like-minded guests that we met, so all up it was one of the best guest house experiences we have had.

They have a generous car park but if you are going to use your car the next day be sure to let Hugh know so you don't get blocked in, as it is more deep than wide. In fact we only used our car once because we walked everywhere and the parking in the township during the season was difficult.

Room Tip: Room 3 has extra space and a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passdeplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just returned home from another visit to Oban. We were so glad we rebooked at the Glenroy! Wendy Hugh remembered us, which was nice, and really made us feel welcome. The room was really quiet so we slept well and the bed was really comfy. A great b&b!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlosandratchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The first impression of the B & B was a good one: Free parking (very useful if you are travellinh by car) right next door to the hotel entrance and a warm welcome by Wendy (we met Hugh only in check out). Unfortunately, this is where good news end: At first, we were given an attic room on the top floor. This is probably the smallest room you will ever stay in a B & B, in fact it is not a 'whole' room but it was probably an attic that was separated to become a room for guests, however if you are of normal height you can't even stay next to the bed. I don't believe that this is supposed to be a double room (it is small enough even for single occupancy) but still we were charged for a double room. Additionally, the room is very basic and the problem was that there was a strange smell (especially in the bathrooom) which did not smell like cleanliness, let's say... The bed was the first I have seen in many many years that did not have a separare sheet, but there was a duvet (seemed old enough) directly resting on the bed. Breakfast was OK, but still I consider it far more expensive for what we got and was probably the worst B & B that I have ever stayed in. I don't know if the other rooms are better, newer, more spacious or more tastefully decorated, but definitely avoid the rooms on the top floor!

Room Tip: Definitely avoid the room on the top floor - attic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maikol77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaighAoigheachd, Owner at Glenroy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi there. At last we have time to answer some of our reviews. We were particularly sad to read your review of your experience here at Glenroy. We pride ourselves on doing our best to make everyone's stay here a good experience. Helping with any arrangements as and when needed. Some of our rooms are bigger than others but having said that some of our guests have asked for the attic rooms because they find they sleep better because it is quieter. General comments from guests, when the size of the room is mentioned, have been that all they need is a comfortable bed for the night and a good breakfast in the morning, which is what they have had.
As for the duvet having no sheet, generally you will find most people don't put extra sheets on the bed because like us the cover is replaced with a clean one every time a guest checks out.
We do taken all our reviews seriously. Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very pleasant stay at this B & B with its own parking, and Wendy and Hugh were very friendly and helpful. Good location to walk into Oban, and to visit the surrounding area. Nice clean rooms with good facilities and a T.V. in each room. Excellent breakfast in pleasant dining room. and well catered for vegetarians.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawthornbank Guest House
0 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
#36 of 94 in Oban
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Cliff Guest House
0.3 mi away
Briarbank Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenroy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenroy Guest House

Address: Rockfield Road, Oban PA34 5DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £52 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenroy Guest House is an elegant Edwardian House situated in one of the most scenic locations in Scotland overlooking Oban bay. The house is owned and run by Wendy and Hugh and prides itself on its friendly and warm atmosphere, comfort, and high level of personal service. The house is situated above the town centre and only a four to five minute walk to all local amenities including shops restaurants trains & ferry terminals. Glenroy has its own private off road parking and free Wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenroy Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing