We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maridon Guest House
Ranked #43 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Ideal for what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We were travelling without a car and stayed here because it was near the station and ferry terminal. We had a room at the front with a side view of the sea, and a small ensuite. The room was a bit crowded with a rather large armchair, but it was clean and comfortable.

We had a good cooked breakfast the first morning, although the second morning we were leaving too early for the cooked main course. However, everything else was available, including tea and coffee, and yogurt and fresh strawberries, cereal, toast, etc; this was better than we expected and the owner was very helpful at all times.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    33
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I was a little nervous since there aren't really any pictures, but the place was everything I needed and more. Cute and cozy little room. En suite bathroom. Delicious and unexpectedly huge English breakfast in the morning. Very nice proprietor who was always cheerful and willing to help. The perfect stay for my time in Oban and exploring the Highlands. Right near the center of town to boot.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Booked the Maridon for a couple of nights. Owner had warned that the only room he had left was a small double but it was absolutely fine. Nice and clean with ensuite, TV, tea, coffee etc. Even a view up to McCaigs Tower. the Cathedral and the sea. Breakfast was enormous! Fresh strawberries, bananas, oranges, yoghurts, cereal and a good choice of cooked breakfast - the black pudding was yummy!

The B&B is literally about 4-5 minutes walk from the ferry so ideally positioned. Parking was right outside the house.

We would definitely recommend this guest house - and we will be back!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front had the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fijilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My parents and I had a very nice stay here earlier this month. Both rooms were modern and clean, with a nice level of decor, and plenty of television channels to watch. What is also a plus is that free wi-fi is provided also, which is really nice.

But the most special thing about staying here is the breakfast. I will write here what we told the gentleman at the time. I've eaten breakfasts in a lot of places over the years, and this has to be one of the best I've ever had. No grease, delicious sausages, perfect scrambled eggs, and I guarantee the tastiest and best prepared black pudding that you will ever eat

With off street parking, it's closeness to the ferry terminal, and a five minute walk into the center of Oban, this is the perfect place to stay whilst in town

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiltman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week and found it a beautiful guest house. Our hosts were fantastic, the rooms were a very good size and alway spotless and perfectly clean. The breakfasts were great with plenty of choice and the owners always ready to help serve what you wanted. The guest house is in easy walking distance to Oban town centre and right beside the ferry port for crossing to Mull etc. My wife and I were very pleased and would like to thanks the Douglas' for a wonderful stay. We would book again and recommend to anyone to stay at Maridon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgregthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Maridon House is clean, cheery place very conveniently located -- 2 minutes walk from the ferry or train and 2 minutes from downtown. The owners, James and Claire, are delightful, very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to get us a good breakfast even when we had to leave super early to catch a ferry. In many ways, an ideal, well-priced place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frostyhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the Maridon, before catching the Tiree ferry in the morning.
The room was quite small, but adequate for our purpose. The owners were friendly and helpful.
Although we had to leave very early, before breakfast, the dining room was laid out with cereals, coffee, juice, croissants etc, for us to help ourselves.
This B&B is the nearest to the ferry terminal - just a short 2 minute walk.
We asked the owner for advice about leaving the car for the week we were on the island, and he suggested that most folks just leave cars parked in the road next to the B&B. We did this - left it for a week and it was fine.
We have friends who have a house on Tiree and they always stay at the Maridon before catching the ferry.
Very convenient and reasonably priced.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richardxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Don Muir Guest House
Don Muir Guest House
#23 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
McCaig's Return Hotel & Bar
0.5 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#70 of 99 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maridon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maridon Guest House

Property: Maridon Guest House
Address: Dunuaran Road, Oban PA34 4NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maridon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maridon Guest House Hotel Oban
Maridon Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing