We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Ee-usk

Ee-usk
Ranked #11 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$48
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ee-usk is a modern glass building sitting right by the water in the busy harbour of Oban.We believe in serving impeccably fresh local seafood cooked simply. We are unable to accommodate children under 12 years of age for dinner.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The food is amazing and the service is second to none. The only thing I would say is I think they need to try and not cram so many people in as it was quite noises and slightly squashed. Other than that I would recommend this to everyone.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,737
    724
    234
    94
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh, Scottish sea food”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was the second time at Ee-usk in Oban. We were with a party of 7 and I enjoyed the whole experience and the seafood very much. Most importantly the seafood was fresh, without compromise. We had Chowder, Seafood platter, Salmon/prawns and mussels and everything was of excellent quality at a reasonable price. Great wine list too! We will definitely come back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HAJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked a table three weeks in advance requesting a table with a view. On arrival the restaurant was packed but even though this was our first visit we were shown to a table by the window with a fantastic view of the harbour. An excellent start and the standard was maintained through out the rest of the evening.The food was of a very high quality and the standard of service was exceptional. What ever the occasion you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silotite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First class meal in excellent location”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A very bust restaurant and advisable to book. Good, friendly service and with the restaurant situated on Oban pier there are great views across the harbour. Food first class, not the cheapest but good value.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The best seafood restaurant in Oban”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

As a seafood lover, I have tried every fish restaurant in Oban over the years and the best by some margin is Ee Usk. The location is spectacular, with floor to celing glass through which to admire the views. The menus is extensive enough and there are always 'specials'. Service is friendly and attentive. The dedicated and hands-on supervision of the owners Alan and his son Callum, who work tirelessly to ensure that guests enjoy themselves, ensures that standards are always excellent and never allowed to slip.

On a recent visit, I had spicy Thai fishcakes then we both enjoyed excellent Dover Sole on the bone with chips and salad and chocolate icecream to finish. The complementary bread and butter was also lovely. A couple of glasses of Sauvignon Blanc and I was in fish lovers' heaven!

Such a shame that the restaurant is marked down on TripAdvisor by those who can't read the website / adverts etc and see that children, whilst welcome at lunchtime and early afternoon, cannot come in the evening because of the terms of the restaurant's licence.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LoungerLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ee-usk also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Ee-usk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing