We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood and attentive service”

The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 96 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$31
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set in idyllic Oban on the North West coast of Scotland, Waterfront Restaurant offers sumptuously fresh fish and seafood in a cutesy boathouse-style setting. Whilst enjoying stunning views over Oban Bay, guests can sample fine local catches, delicious fish classics and an impressive world wine list.
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We went there for dinner on an early evening and got a table near the window to the pier. They offer a great choice of seafood dishes and some non seafood as well. They also serve local beer, what we really appreciate (Kiltlifter from Oban is highly recommendable).
We both had mussels, lobster ravioli and a tart. The served food was very delicious and all the portions had the right size. The staff was very attentive and friendly.
We would definitely recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sparco_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback of your experience with us! I am pleased to see that you took full advantage of your visit and tried a local Ale brewed at the back of our sister restaurant Cuan Mor. Hopefully you will return again for a meal with us and maybe this time you can try another Ale such as a Skelpt Lug or a Skinny Blonde!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,765 - 1,769 of 2,635 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

The two course lunch for £12 was very good value for money. Mussels in a garlic and cream sauce followed by a melt in the mouth smoked haddock risotto. Lovely friendly staff and a beautiful view over the harbour.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mags D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review on TripAdvisor, I am pleased to read such a positive review on all aspects of your visit. The two course deal is a great offer to have taken advantage of and I'm glad you enjoyed your meal as well as the service. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had the two courses for £12 deal. The selection was varied and portion size was great...we worried it may be slightly on the small side but it was definitley value for money. We managed to get a table with a view which was lovely. Service was good...would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jodimacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for your great review of The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, I am pleased to see that you took advantage of our special 2 course menu. It is great value for money yet offers great choice. I hope you will come visit us again soon and maybe order something from the main menu next time where there is much more choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Came to the restaurant as part of a 5pm deal at the Ranald Hotel. We both had scallops for starter which were delicious. I had cod with risotto and my partner had crab ravioli. Would highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annie_marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Annie, firstly I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to read such a positive review. The scallops salad is a wonderful starter as are your chosen main course and I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us. I hope you enjoyed your stay at The Ranald Hotel and I hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The staff were good enough to accomodate a short notice change of dining time without any fuss.

We had a great table overlooking the pier - obviously they are limited on how many tables offer a view but if you can get a table at the window then its a great bonus to the experience.

Nice lively buzz about the place with great choice of seafood dishes but, also, quite a selection of non seafood as well.

All food was served quite promptly and was of great quality - its quite a speedy dining experience as they are turning tables at a rate of knots but having said that we weren't in any way hurried.

There is a decent pub downstairs as well for a pre-dinner snifter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ITTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and that the staff were welcoming and friendly. The kitchen try their best to provide a good range of items on the menu so it's great to see that customers are appreciating this. Yes, Sloans is a great bar downstairs for a after dinner drink, we sometimes pop down after our shifts ourselves! Thank you again and we hope you will come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing