We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Boston”

The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 95 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$31
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set in idyllic Oban on the North West coast of Scotland, Waterfront Restaurant offers sumptuously fresh fish and seafood in a cutesy boathouse-style setting. Whilst enjoying stunning views over Oban Bay, guests can sample fine local catches, delicious fish classics and an impressive world wine list.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Better than Boston”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a great meal here on our first night in Oban. All of our dishes were prepared creatively and were exceptionally flavorful. The atmosphere was casual and relaxed, but with a nice touch of taste. We raved about the food for days afterward.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JazzMan596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you very much for your 5* review of the Waterfront Fishouse restaurant. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our chefs take great pride in the presentation and the taste of the dishes they serve! I hope you will come back and visit us again some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,586
    564
    168
    50
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fabulous fish”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

excellent fresh fish meal with exemplary service ..cold wet Tuesday in Oban but warmth of welcome and superb food made trip out more than worthwhile. Scallops so fresh almost still moving! Waiter Pavel recommended special..it was perfect, taste and texture, aroma and appearance combined to make perfect main. Couldn't recommend more highly, will certainly return
Irene and Stuart

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irene b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Irene and Stuart, thank you for your wonderful review of our restaurant. We are very lucky to be situated right on the pier promising the freshest of seafood to our customers! I am very pleased you felt so welcome with us and that you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you again sooner rather than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best seafood meal in a long time”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had dinner at Waterfront Restaurant last week and fully enjoyed the meal. The seafood chowder was the best I have ever had. We were lucky and they had received fresh langustine on that day, delicious with the restaurant's spicy sauce. The mains were delicious as well, super fresh fish and the side of salmon&spinach pancake was wonderful. The service was excellent, very helpful and friendly staff! We'll definitely go back there next time we're in Oban. :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Fishouse Restaurant! It is very difficult to get langoustines in at this time of year and I'm glad to see you made the most of the rare occasion. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us as well as the service provided and we hope you will come back and see us for another wonderful meal again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality food and the service was first class from our waiter”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

will be back as soon as we can make it, look out for the polish waiter, cant remember his name but he is a great lad and was really helpful and polite.
callum and sherry :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scobbieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Callum and Sherry, firstly I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. The name of your waiter was Pavel, he is a wonderful asset to our company and I'm sure he is glad to see that he made an impression on you. We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best fish meals and great service”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We come across this restaurant while in Oban for the first time. We had been told about it from friend and they all raved about it. We almost missed the entrance as they are having some work done to the building, but once inside we were so impressed with the quality of food the standard of service and the REASONABLE prices that we went there again on our second night in Oban. The choice of see food is one of the best I have seen and the chef is EXCELLENT.
DO NOT MISS A VISIT TO IT NEXT TIME YOUR ARE THERE!!!!! In fact is worth going to Oban just so you can go there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pantelis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Firstly I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor! We love getting such positive feedback from our customers. Thank you so much for your great review and recommendation. I'm glad you found our entrance and were able to come in and enjoy your meal. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing