We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant

The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 92 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$31
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Set in idyllic Oban on the North West coast of Scotland, Waterfront Restaurant offers sumptuously fresh fish and seafood in a cutesy boathouse-style setting. Whilst enjoying stunning views over Oban Bay, guests can sample fine local catches, delicious fish classics and an impressive world wine list.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Found the restaurant on this site and thought we'd try it. The service was great, Pavel was very welcoming and attentive. The food was simply fantastic. We sampled haddock chowder and grilled mackerel to start followed by cod with mussels and a cheese and leek sauce as well as sea bass in a tomato and asparagus sauce. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amesbury Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, General Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience with us. The cod that you sampled is one our most popular dish, our menu is changing tomorrow but you'll be pleased to hear the Cod fillet remains! Although we have changed it up a wee bit, its now served with a Prosecco and Wild Mushroom Sauce! We hope to see you back to try it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,433
    513
    150
    44
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not the same”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

After having a great night with my pardner in January, I returned with a friend a few months later, still a nice meal but did not feel as welcoming as I found in January. Think I will try someplace else next time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chastee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, General Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for review - we encourage all comments, positive or negative and value your opinion. I'm sorry you felt not as welcome as your were in January. I assure you all our guests are welcome whatever time of year they arrive! Next time you are in Oban please visit us so we can show you just how much we value your custom. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just had a delightful dinner. Pavel, the manager did a great job making us feel comfortable and spent a lot of time entertaining us. We are from the west coast of Canada and know seafood. Everything was fresh and well prepared, including a secret ingredient that we had no success in guessing. Give it a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny-B1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, General Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Pavel is a valuable member of the team and we're luck y to have him! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and from so far away! If you ever return to Oban please visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We came here after a nice stroll through the lovely town of Oban. The restaurant area is situated upstairs, and the setting is very nice. The atmosphere is relaxed and laid back, not very fancy, but that's exactly how I like it. We were one of only one other couple when we came in, but after a while more and more people came, adding to the really nice feel of the restaurant. I had the venison tortellini (awesome) and my main was the salmon fillet with the most crispy skin I've ever tried. My wife had the fish and chips and was impressed by that as well. So the food is really good quality, for a very reasonable price. If I ever end up in Oban again, I will go here for my meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D3US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, General Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant. I'm glad you felt so relaxed and welcome in our restaurant - that's exactly how we want you to feel! If you ever venture to Oban again we would love to have you back! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stand out restaurant in a town blessed with a number of excellent places to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Ate here last night. The restaurant is sited overlooking the working port and harbour. The window tables afford fab views. The decor is clean and quite modern and the menu extensive. The staff are without doubt a major plus, being attentive, knowledgeable but managing not to be overbearing. The food is of course the main consideration and doesn't disappoint. It is cooked perfectly and could not be any fresher, having been caught the same day.
Will we go back? Without any doubt whatsoever. If your a foody and don't visit this restaurant you have missed the gem in the crown of Oban!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caistercorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, General Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us. Our panoramic window is certainly a fantastic feature, providing stunning views over Obans working bay. Thank you for visiting us during your stay - we would love to have you back again for some more seafood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing