We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must”

The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 97 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$31
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set in idyllic Oban on the North West coast of Scotland, Waterfront Restaurant offers sumptuously fresh fish and seafood in a cutesy boathouse-style setting. Whilst enjoying stunning views over Oban Bay, guests can sample fine local catches, delicious fish classics and an impressive world wine list.
Reviewed 11 August 2014

You need to book which we did but many disgruntled customers were turned away.
This is a extremely busy restaurant but the service was fantastic from the moment we arrived .
As we were international visitors we were advised to mention this as we could have been seated with a view.Unfortunately this advice was a bit too late ( upon arrival)and we were seated in front of a wall with no view as they were busy .This was not an issue for us as we were pretty easy going.
Four of us dined here and one ordered Lamb as didn't like seafood and thought her meal to be excellent.
I ordered the scallops and they were Awesome!.Scampi was deep fried and a bit greasy and the king prawns you do need to shell yourself which is a bit of a pain but that's the way they come so if you're not into this do not order them.
The oysters both cooked and natural were amazing .
Highly recommended due to freshness of food and exceptional service but do not turn up and expect to be seated immediately .Make a booking and you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SallyJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, General Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you so much for describing our service as 'exceptional' its a real compliment as we always try to deliver perfect service!

I'm delighted your partner enjoyed her lamb, we have several non seafood options as we understand that not everyone loves seafood as much as we do!

Please dont be a stranger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,507 - 1,511 of 2,606 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

The view from here is good only when the ferry has gone out and then you can see around the harbour. The restaurant is well decorated and we particularly liked the shellfish drawn on the slate. The menu was comprehensive and the crab timbale and the tandoori scallops were delicious and well presented. The mains of battered haddock and chips and lobster Thermidor were also well cooked. The lobster for the Thermidor was a little on the small side but the cheese sauce excellent. The salad was the same for the starter and the main. The service was friendly and efficient. No room for puds but a very good experience overall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Plattypuss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, General Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Hello and thank you for your review.
Our hand painted art work is certainly a talking point with guest and Im pleased you enjoyed it.
If you ever return to Oban we would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in oban for the night and were recommended to eat at this place. Absolutely gorgeous restaurant and the food was stunning. Manager was so helpful and made us feel very welcome. However, wait staff seemed to lack communication with each other as it is run slightly different to normal restaurants. Ie one person is in charge of taking everyone's orders, one person in charge taking over drinks etc. this meant there was some wait to have our order taken as a lot of tables were ordering at the same time. We ordered a jug of water and that never came, maybe because we had ordered to the lady bringing over our food! But overall, great experience and would def go back. Maybe the wait staff are quite new or something! Don't let my views on the service sway you not to eat here!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beccamcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, General Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.
I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal so much. I'm sorry that you felt service was not up to our usual standard.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We actually intended to eat seafood on the harbour wall from that amazing looking sea food hut, but as that was closed we visited this restaurant. As it was a Friday night it was busy but we only had to wait 15 mins for a table. The food was delicious ...I tried scallops for the 1st time & wasn't disappointed! The staff were lovely & the sunset from the huge windows overlooking Oban harbour was stunning

Thank MerlynsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your review on The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are a very busy restaurant and most nights have a waiting list, however we try our best to get through this as quickly as possible. Our flame grilled Isle of Mull Scallops are a very popular choice on our menu, served with smoked cheese and chive mash, pancetta green beans and a stone ground mustard and elephant garlic fish cream. I'm also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service and setting. We hope that next time you are in the area you come back to our restaurant again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Wonderful food and service from Rebecca, Kerry, pav and Chloe, excellent value for money, would recommend to all seafood or steak lovers, fabulous night

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront F, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your review on the Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, I'm pleased you enjoyed your evening with us and our staff members you mentioned above helped make that possible. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing