We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1960's Rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sutherland Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sutherland Hotel
Ranked #28 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“1960's Rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Recycled furniture like items from a charity shop.. cracked and broken floorboards, polystyrene tiles on the roof... shower fittings that don't fit in a shower that barely manages to get you moist... where to stop?
It's been a longgggg time since I've stayed in such a bedraggled hotel in need of tons of TLC. The location is absolutely glorious and the views from the bedrooms are first class .... but...!!!
However when needs must - it was cheap. The Tourist Office said they had not "rated" the hotel yet. I'm not sure they can expect to retain their 2 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    24
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
71
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

i liked here very much. Staff very helpful, breakfast were made by God! very nice seaview and clean, fresh rooms. Never expected to get that quality for such a good price!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laeyla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom, Glamis, Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Sutherland House and Hotel for 2 nights. Wish we could have stayed longer but because prior engagment we had to leave but we shall defenitelly coming back next time when we are in Oban. The staff were very pleasant and helpfull, breakfast was delicious. I recommend this place to anyone who would like to spend their holiday in this lovely quiet spot.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patwalker32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veszprem, Hungary
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We just searched an easy and small guesthouse to stay for a weekend and I think this one was a perfect choice.Room was clean and comfortable,staff were very nice and courteous and gave us good tips on where to go and places to visit in the local area.I recommend it warmly.Next time we definately will back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jezebeldeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

the surly and unfriendly eastern european girls that appear to be running the place, Having said that the B&B itself was very nice and in a lovely position on the harbour front.
It was lovely and clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were good and filling, just set you up right for the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmywallymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San José
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Pros: good location and looks good on the outside
Cons: the shower didn't work, the decoration is old and the staff is rude, you have to pay for the parking, the breakfast consists of oil with eggs, oil with sausages and oil with tomatoes, £65 pounds for all of that. Don't be fooled by the brochure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roccarva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

This is not as advertised. There is only free parking from 6pm until 9am you then have to pay to leave your car in the car park next door.

I had room 3 which did not even have en suite! It was on the floor below. All very very basic, smelt and felt dirty. The staff were rude and unhelpful. Was booked in for 3 nights but walked out after seeing the poor state of the room.

Awful!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillb2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Kilchrenan House
Kilchrenan House
#7 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Don Muir Guest House
Don Muir Guest House
#23 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heatherfield House
Heatherfield House
#15 of 99 in Oban
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
MacKay's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland Hotel

Property: Sutherland Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutherland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sutherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing