We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never been so cold” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sutherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sutherland Hotel
Ranked #26 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds
1 review
“Never been so cold”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at the Sutherland Hotel while visiting the area for a friends wedding. It was the beginning of March and I think we were the only people staying.
The welcome was very quick, and the girl who was on the desk had a blanket wrapped round her for warmth.
When we got to the room it was fine, and had everything that was required apart from heating. The whole house was cold and the little heater we were given for the room was not adequate. There was a towel heater in the bathroom but this never got warm.
Breakfast was average and timings not very flexible for a weekend.
The lady who served us would not crack a smile and was not very welcoming or informative
Perhaps you would get a better reception in the tourist season, but not convinced the lady who servied us is capable of this

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAGABuryStEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    24
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
71
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed there one night on our road trip in Scotland this september. First we arrive at our room and the light is not working. We were told not to worry , they would fix it but finally they said it wasnt possible and we would have to change room. Then the fire alarm went on twice (late night) without reason and a lady from the hotel came to check in our room. Finally we were told that it was going on without reason! There is a pub on the ground floor (more like basement) and it was very noisy. The women working there were a bit on the rude side! Finally it is the first time a see 2 CCTV cameras in the breakfast room. Mind you this place was as expensive as some of the best places we stayed in Scotland. To be avoided.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxinspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Recycled furniture like items from a charity shop.. cracked and broken floorboards, polystyrene tiles on the roof... shower fittings that don't fit in a shower that barely manages to get you moist... where to stop?
It's been a longgggg time since I've stayed in such a bedraggled hotel in need of tons of TLC. The location is absolutely glorious and the views from the bedrooms are first class .... but...!!!
However when needs must - it was cheap. The Tourist Office said they had not "rated" the hotel yet. I'm not sure they can expect to retain their 2 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

i liked here very much. Staff very helpful, breakfast were made by God! very nice seaview and clean, fresh rooms. Never expected to get that quality for such a good price!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laeyla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom, Glamis, Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Sutherland House and Hotel for 2 nights. Wish we could have stayed longer but because prior engagment we had to leave but we shall defenitelly coming back next time when we are in Oban. The staff were very pleasant and helpfull, breakfast was delicious. I recommend this place to anyone who would like to spend their holiday in this lovely quiet spot.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patwalker32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veszprem, Hungary
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We just searched an easy and small guesthouse to stay for a weekend and I think this one was a perfect choice.Room was clean and comfortable,staff were very nice and courteous and gave us good tips on where to go and places to visit in the local area.I recommend it warmly.Next time we definately will back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jezebeldeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

the surly and unfriendly eastern european girls that appear to be running the place, Having said that the B&B itself was very nice and in a lovely position on the harbour front.
It was lovely and clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were good and filling, just set you up right for the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmywallymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.3 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilchrenan House
Kilchrenan House
#8 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
MacKay's Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Heatherfield House
Heatherfield House
#16 of 99 in Oban
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland Hotel

Property: Sutherland Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutherland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sutherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing