We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oban”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor seating area with BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Outdoor seating area with BBQ
Great outdoor space includes driveway with ample parking for 2 cars
Dining area with patio doors
Comfortable seating for 4
Modern bathroom with bath, electric shower, underfloor heating, heated towel rail and LED mirror
Double bedroom with fresh towels and bedlinen. Wall mounted TV/DVD and iPod docking station.
Cosy lounge with electric log fire
Well-equipped kitchen
Double bedroom with fresh towels and bed linen. Wall mounted TV/DVD and iPod docking station.
Christmas at Barcaldine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Diane R
1 review
“Oban”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The bungalow is extremely well equipped, in a lovely quiet location. Thank you Caroline for the welcome basket which was very much appreciated and a lovely surprise. Oban is a beautiful place to stay and and ideal place from which to visit the beautiful area or the islands. Really enjoyed our holiday to Oban.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Thank you Diane for taking the time to write a review and your kind comments. Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in Oban. Thank you also for being great guests! Best wishes Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macAberde...
aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming home from home”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Had a lovely comfortable stay in this cottage that provided everything needed to feel like home. Comfortable beds with lovely quality linen, lovely luxury bathroom with underfloor heating, great kitchen to cater for all your needs and comfortable living room with dining table. Even a lovely sitting area outside to enjoy on a lovely evening. All within easy walking distance to town centre, or a great base to explore the the beautiful surrounding area. I would definitely stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. You were excellent guests and would be welcome back any time. Best wishes Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Thank you Diane for taking the time to write a review. Thank you also for your kind comments. We're always pleased to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay. Wishing you a happy and healthy 2017. Best wishes Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alex B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Week In Oban”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

3 of us stayed at Barcaldine Cottage for a week in November. Cosy, warm cottage, in a great location just south of the town centre. Great base to explore places like Easdale, Mull, Port Appin, Castle Stalker, and Kinlochleven. The welcome hamper was much appreciated, & packed with goodies. Well equipped with everything you would need, and would certainly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you also for your kind comments. Sounds like you really made the most of your time! Best wishes Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenzo2016
Burntisland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely well equipped cottage in quiet location in Oban. This was a comfy base for our weekend in Oban. We hope to be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely cottage which is very well equipped. A wonderful surprise when we arrived, the welcome basket was very much appreciated. Good location for visiting the Oban area. The owner Caroline was very prompt with emails etc I would highly recommend staying at Barcaldine Cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Thank you for your very kind comments. We're always glad to hear our guests enjoyed their stay. Kind regards Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariaboba...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amaxing”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stay in the cottage for 1 week. When we arrived was a lovely basket with some treats and milk waiting for us in fridge . The cottage was clean, it has everything we need for a nice relax holidays. Could do with a darker blinds tho. But apart from that. Great cottage, great location. Definitely will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Hi Maria thank you for taking the time to write a review. So glad to hear you enjoyed staying at the cottage. Yes, the blinds are quite light so we will look at changing them for the future. We would be delighted to welcome you back anytime. Best wishes Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing