We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here!”

Craigielea Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigielea Guest House
Ranked #5 of 12 Galashiels B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed one night while walking the Southern Upland Way. A pleasant welcome to a very effieciently run B&B. Rooms a re comfortable, clean and well appointed. Good full Scottish breakfast. Great location in center of town and close to restuarnts, shops and pub. Very good value!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    19
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
21
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

As many other people have already said, this is a lovely B&B. The bed was comfy, the breakfast delicious and the hosts kind and friendly. The only drawback (although not caused by the Guest House) was the Church across the road that chimed every 15mins from 6am onwards. If you like to sleep with your window open, it was a little noisy. Apart from that, I cannot fault Craigielea.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

I love this place it's so warm and welcoming and Ann is such a lovely person to chat with. I was on my oen and thought i'd be put into a twin room but was given a double, even though there were twins available and this was a lovely bonus. the room itself was lovely, gorgeous bedding and superb quality bedding and furniture. The bathroom was small but i didnt mind at all as its an old house and they've done really well to include en suite facillities in the accomodation. The guest lounge is very comfortable and homely with the fire on. I spent both my nights in there reading and watching a DVD. The breakfast is first class with a lovely home cooked feel.
the location is excellent, all pubs and restaurants and shopping on the doorstep but still a very quiet area to get a fab nights sleep.
I highly recommend this accomodation as a base to explore the Scottish Borders and relax in a very clean and welcoming environment. Will defnitely return.

Room Tip: avoid Quinns for eating - good food but at £4.90 for a large glass of wine a rip off - complained to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shineysheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here whilst walking the SUW and it was an excellent choice. The location is excellent and close to the Town Centre, although it was a bit noisy on Saturday night, with good amenities.
Ann gave us good advice on where to eat in Town and was really friendly and helpful.
The bedroom and bathroom were light with plenty of space and lots of warm water.
Breakfast was good and served in a lovely light dining room.
This is a good Band B in hte area and worth a stay to explore the beautiful walks etc around the area

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevind281050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My partner and I spent one night at Ann's lovely B&B. The room was lovely, clean and bright with very comfy beds. The breakfast also very good and the location is excellent. Ann was very friendly and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen_mulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandon, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Spent three nights in April and was completely satisfied. The room was light and airy and exceptionally clean. The breakfasts were very good. Loved the fact that it was so close to town yet quiet. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

An excellent B&B with very friendly and accommodating owners ideally located in the town centre. Very clean rooms, all ensuite with comfortable beds. Nice and quiet, ensuring you a good sleep despite being right in the middle of town.

Breakfast was good and the owner a mind of information on where to eat in the town.

Will definately return when in area as have tried others in the area and not a patch on this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
2.7 mi away
The Clovenfords Hotel
The Clovenfords Hotel
#2 of 3 in Galashiels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Binniemyre Guest House
Binniemyre Guest House
#4 of 12 in Galashiels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watson Lodge Guest House
Watson Lodge Guest House
#6 of 12 in Galashiels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigielea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigielea Guest House

Property: Craigielea Guest House
Address: Craigielea Lawyers Brae, Galashiels TD1 3JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Galashiels
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigielea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craigielea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigielea Guest House Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing