We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Guest House”

Craigielea Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craigielea Guest House
Ranked #6 of 11 Galashiels B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Nice little Guest House”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here for an overnight visit. The guest house is central for all amenities in Galashiels. It is a 5 minute walk from the centre of town. Anne the owner was very helpful and friendly. We had a twin room at the front of the guest house which was very clean with an en-suite bathroom with shower. There were plenty of towels available and complimentary shampoo and shower gel were provided. The room had tea/coffee making facilities, a flat screen TV and free wi-fi was available. If you prefer to sleep with the window open at night I would advise you ask for a room at the back of the guest house as our room at the front overlooking the street was noisy. Breakfast was served in the dining room which was very nice. Choice of fruits, cereals and yoghurts as well as a cooked breakfast with tea/coffee and toast. It would have been helpful to know what was included in the cooked breakfast to save on waste rather than serving up a standard breakfast with items which would be left uneaten on the plate. There is on street parking but also parking around the back of the guest house. Craigielee is a nice little guest house which is central for Galashiels.

Would highly recommend The Salmon Inn directly across the road from the guest house for an evening meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    19
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a lovely stay at Craiglelea Guest House. It is a lovely house. Ann was a perfect host and our room overlooking the church, with a chiming clock, was very clean and modern. We had a very good night's sleep and enjoyed a great breakfast next day. We recommend staying at Craiglelea.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverlynx C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This small guest house is situated within easy walking distance of all the shops and bars in Galashiels. Anne, the owner, is very pleasant and friendly. We have stayed here twice, the first time in a twin room on the first floor which was at the back of the house and very quiet. On our second visit, we were given a double room on the ground floor which was smaller and at the side of the house without a view. The bed was very comfortable so we slept very well. There is plenty selection for breakfast including fresh fruit, cereal, cooked breakfast, etc. There is also free wifi which is a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazaspooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duns, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Anyone looking for a B & B in Galashiels won't have to look any further that this one. Comfy beds and the whole place was spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast with as much tea/ coffee and toast as you wanted.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed one night while walking the Southern Upland Way. A pleasant welcome to a very effieciently run B&B. Rooms a re comfortable, clean and well appointed. Good full Scottish breakfast. Great location in center of town and close to restuarnts, shops and pub. Very good value!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

As many other people have already said, this is a lovely B&B. The bed was comfy, the breakfast delicious and the hosts kind and friendly. The only drawback (although not caused by the Guest House) was the Church across the road that chimed every 15mins from 6am onwards. If you like to sleep with your window open, it was a little noisy. Apart from that, I cannot fault Craigielea.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I love this place it's so warm and welcoming and Ann is such a lovely person to chat with. I was on my oen and thought i'd be put into a twin room but was given a double, even though there were twins available and this was a lovely bonus. the room itself was lovely, gorgeous bedding and superb quality bedding and furniture. The bathroom was small but i didnt mind at all as its an old house and they've done really well to include en suite facillities in the accomodation. The guest lounge is very comfortable and homely with the fire on. I spent both my nights in there reading and watching a DVD. The breakfast is first class with a lovely home cooked feel.
the location is excellent, all pubs and restaurants and shopping on the doorstep but still a very quiet area to get a fab nights sleep.
I highly recommend this accomodation as a base to explore the Scottish Borders and relax in a very clean and welcoming environment. Will defnitely return.

Room Tip: avoid Quinns for eating - good food but at £4.90 for a large glass of wine a rip off - complained to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shineysheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
2.7 mi away
The Clovenfords Hotel
The Clovenfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Galashiels
179 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
2.6 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
306 reviews
6.9 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
4.9 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigielea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigielea Guest House

Property: Craigielea Guest House
Address: Craigielea Lawyers Brae, Galashiels TD1 3JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galashiels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigielea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craigielea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigielea Guest House Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing