We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We've been but we'll not be back.”

Abbotsford Arms Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbotsford Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Galashiels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We've been but we'll not be back.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Cold room because window wouldn't shut. Shower would not drain away. Serves wrong food from what was ordered. Breakfast room in darkness and locked from 8am till 9.30am (was meant to be between 8am and 10am) and no staff on site to ask what was going on. Generally terrible!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Embos1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    25
    12
    10
    17
See reviews for
7
26
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
north yorks uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

stayed at abbotsford arms was in middle of being renivated will be intrested see what looks like when all finished
rooms very basic but with good eye for detail could be stunning
great bar manager food dinner was lovley breakfast quite basic

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melNorthYorksUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Spent four days recently at the Abbotsford arms hotel with our grand sons where the manager and staff could not have been nicer.
The hotel is undergoing a revamp and although the rooms were very clean and tidy they still needed some extras.
The food can only be described as excellent.
We booked in for bed and breakfast but the food was so good we had our main meal of the day in the hotel.
An added bonus for us was that they allowed us to bring our dog.
I think that when all the proposed work is done it will be the in place to stay in Galashields.
Would most certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night and although renovations r goin on it is still an enjoyable place. The rooms r basic and.clean.but has all u need and very comfortable bed. The food was lovely and plenty on ur plate. Staff were accomodating and friendly. Would definately reccomend this hotel if goin to galashiels. Nightlife was rotten in town centre and would avoid.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkib1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Just back from a great night in this hotel. Rooms basic but clean. Had a meal in the restraunt and it was very tasty. Service in the bar area was great, all very friendly. Nightlife in Gala is pretty good, would definatly recomend Reivers. They had a live band on that night and the drinks are pretty cheap. All in all had a great trip and would definatly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouiseBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

As two couples off for a 60th birthday weekend away we all had a great time, Mainly due to our three young hosts (Reece, Emily and Andy) who were fun and keen to provide great service to make our stay as good as they could. We arrived and our rooms were small, very clean, new carpets, fresh coat of paint - but small and basic. We all agreed they could do with an interior decorators touch to ensure bedside cabinets, adequate hanging space etc. We had the evening meal with wine - all of which was good. In fact the meal was very good. We spent the evening in the bar playing pool with staff and locals and were made to feel really welcome. This is young team keen to raise the level of service provided. If we are down Galashiels way again we will stay here and look forward to seeing how the proposed improvements turn out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donmacintyre1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We are from Lincolnshire and have friends who live in Galashiels, Just had to say what a change as taken place here, since last time we stayed, the rooms have all been decorated and bathroom suites changed to white suites, the new owners are very pleasant and cant do enough for you, the chef is also worth a mention his food is superb! Will def be back for our friends birthday there in July as it also caters for functions too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julia196064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
2.7 mi away
The Clovenfords Hotel
The Clovenfords Hotel
#2 of 3 in Galashiels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
3.7 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Salmon Inn
The Salmon Inn
#3 of 12 in Galashiels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Arms Hotel

Property: Abbotsford Arms Hotel
Address: 63 Stirling Street, Galashiels TD1 1BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Galashiels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbotsford Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has just been taken over by a new company with the drive to bring it back to its original state. we have a very efficient team ready to help anyone with any problems.we now currently have a General Manager living on the premises to help you 24 hours a day and we are currently undertaking renovation projects in the bedrooms and bar to make a more enjoyable stay for everyone.Situated in the heart of Galashiels, the Abbotsford Hotel provides an ideal venue for the business traveler and tourist alike. Galashiels is steeped in history and is home to some of the country's wonderful sporting challenges including the famous Rugby Sevens. Abbotsford Hotel is the ideal accommodation choice for those wanting to explore Borders Country and lovers of all things Scottish.With a convenient location just across the road from Galashiels Bus Station and just a short walk to the town centre, the hotel is a great base from which guests can explore the many sights and attractions of Galashiels and surrounding areas.The hotel boasts a traditional bar that serves delicious food as well as a wide variety of beverages in a warm and welcoming setting or alternatively, you can take your drink outside to the lovely beer garden and enjoy some fresh air in a beautiful outdoor setting.If you are looking for a hot drink, visit the Coffee shop where guests have a further selection of beverages and snacks. Abbotsford Hotel also has a conference and function room, ideal for a business meeting or presentation, and offers guests free access to the internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbotsford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Arms Hotel Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing