We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost for words......”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galashiels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maplehurst Boutique Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Galashiels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lost for words......”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

It's taken me so long to write a review for the Maplehurst as I just couldn't find words adequate enough to express how absolutely perfect the Maplehurst is! The hosts Derek and Linda cannot do enough to make every aspect of your stay at their establishment absolutely wonderful. Their genuine warmth and hospitality is such a treat. The food is AMAZING, Linda and Derek both take quiet note of your likes and dislikes and tailor each breakfast to you as an individual, buying in extra special (and local) produce if they think you might like to try it. They make you feel so special and nothing is too much trouble for them. They do all this without fuss, leaving the guest to feel that the house is simply there for that guests private use. They just seem to appear whenever you need something! Their home is stunning, beautiful, warm, palatial even but always cosy warm and welcoming, Wonderful!! If you're very lucky you may get to meet Barclay who sometimes comes to play the grand piano in the drawing room..a little extra treat to add to all the others..Enjoy!!

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
90
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Been visiting the Borders for the last 8 years and have stayed in about 6 other hotels/guest houses, this is by far the best! The house is lovely, absolutely immaculate and my room was very well acquainted. All the extra touches made it a lovely stay - whiskey, books, DVD's, soft drinks, snacks and locally sourced organic toiletries. Derek and Linda's hospitality was very welcoming and the breakfasts were superb. Looking forward to my next trip!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We only stayed one night but wish it could have been more. From the minute we arrived till the minute we left we were treated superbly well by Linda and Derek, Great advice on where to eat out in the evening, and the breakfast was above and beyond anything else ever experienced, Also special thanks for the caring attitude when we had to make an early morning visit to A & E

Room Tip: We had the Morris room which is superb, spacious and furnished to the highest standard possible and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueMoon_Rose12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked in for a two night stay and wow we were not disappointed,it was a delight to stay with Linda and Derek who made us extremely welcome.After being shown to our room which was the Morris one with the rabbit wallpaper we were invited to sit out on the patio for afternoon tea,which included scones , overlooking their beautiful gardens,it was just wonderful.After a comfortable nights sleep the breakfast was excellent all cooked to perfection especially the porridge which was out of this world,Linda can certainly cook.There was lots of choice with different fruits and cereals as well as being offered a preference as to how you wanted your breakfast cooked. There were lots of extras,bottled water,biscuits toiletries,bath robes and even slippers,they definetly give value for money and we will look forward to visiting them again.Well done Linda and Derek for giving us a memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Sayed at this beautiful place for a romantic birthday treat. We knew we had chosen well as soon as we arrived in the beautiful grounds. Stunning house interiors and gorgeous rooms together with great hosts make this a must stay place if you are visiting Gala or the Borders.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACKPHOTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Two nights in what for us was the best B&B we've stayed in. Maplehurst is a fine example of the Arts and Crafts movement and espouses the aspirations of the movement. The house is largely original and has many splendid personal touches of funiture and pictures. The garden is a delight.
Altogether a real tonic, with superb hosts, food and accommodation. Linda's cooking is of the highest order, original and worthy of Michelin recognition. Breakfast was splendid so much quality food, choice was difficult.
Will return whenever possible
Thank you Linda and Derek X. R&C

Room Tip: Any room in this splendid house is to be sought after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I booked 2 nights at Maplehurst as the first stop in our tour of Scotland. As soon as you turn off the main road up through the wooded drive to the house you know that this is something different. The house has been lovingly restored by the owners to a beautiful example of the arts and crafts period. Nothing that I can say here can do it justice. Beautiful decor, lovely peaceful garden, very comfortable bedroom, first class breakfast. Charming host and hostess. Just go there. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: As the property is on the main A7 we asked for a quiet room and were given one overlooking the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
3.3 mi away
The Clovenfords Hotel
The Clovenfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Galashiels
177 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
914 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Binniemyre Guest House
Binniemyre Guest House
#5 of 11 in Galashiels
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maplehurst Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maplehurst Boutique Guest House

Property: Maplehurst Boutique Guest House
Address: 42 Abbotsford Road, Galashiels TD1 3HR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galashiels
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SLEEP WELL, EAT WELL & RELAX IN LUXURY Welcome to Maplehurst Guest House - our beautiful Arts and Crafts home in the Scottish Borders a hidden gem set in its own quiet, tree-lined grounds, with elegant period interiors, gourmet breakfasts and stylish modern comforts described by many guests as a 5 star boutique hotel. Striking original interior features including beautiful tapestries, rich oak panelling and the stunning stained glass window, A Woman with Fruit, help to create an unforgettable haven for your stay in the romantic Border country. At Maplehurst Boutique Guest House, we like to spoil you with our tailor-made gourmet breakfasts, It's all freshly cooked on the Aga, and served in our lovely oak-panelled Arts and Crafts dining room, for a perfect start to your day. Where possible we use fresh locally sourced ingredients, and cater for every palate, whether you prefer full Scottish/English breakfast, continental, or a taste of something new. Join us at our Maplehurst Cooking Academy or our Maplehurst Fine Dining Club for gourmet hosted dinners, enjoy the fantastic wine cellar. We cater for exclusive small in house events for up to 20 guests or garden events for max 50 guests, we also do outside catering on request. Maplehurst gives you the best of both worlds: only ten minutes' walk from Galashiels town centre, yet well back from the road, and quietly sheltered by tall trees. The house is set in its own generous grounds with sweeping lawns, maple, pine and cherry trees, and magnificent rhododendrons. On warmer days, you're welcome to use the summerhouse and patio, or explore the terraced garden. Our central location makes Maplehurst an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Border country, or hopping on the new Waverley Border train up to Edinburgh (35 miles) to see the city sights. Right here on the doorstep, there's the Southern Upland Way and Sir Walter Scott's magnificent Abbotsford House and within easy reach, you'll find romantic ruined abbeys and imposing castles, busy market towns and pretty villages, gentle lowland hills and a wild, spectacular coastline - all within the catchment of one of Britain's great salmon waters, the River Tweed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maplehurst Boutique Guest House Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing