We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salmon with Japanes Miso soup.”
Review of Herges on the Loch

Herges on the Loch
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Galashiels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Herges is a superb place to watch the wildlife outside on the water. The ambience is magical, the food delightful and the staff friendly and helpful.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One of the nicest meals I have ever had , great personal service , really friendly atmosphere, a pleasure to visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank georgepow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 299 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great meal last night. The new menu was terrific, the pork belly was great and the raspberry parfait was heaven. Also still some family favourites and we all loved the pizza. A five star meal. Our children were all made welcome too.

1  Thank annerory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandysan0189, Manager at Herges on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks for your vote of confidence, I hope that you return to try one of our other dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Hard to fault the setting, the service and the place itself, but one thing did strike me. Locals were conspicous by their absence. The reason? Edinburgh prices and small portions. The food was tasty enough, but theres a whole 'chain approach' to the place - small portions in large plates designed so you look you're getting more, and you'll only fill yourself up with three courses with no change from 50 quid for two. Considering that the borders has plenty of independent eateries who dont scrimp and who appreciate the money more, i wont be back. Great setting though. Head into gala itself, or selkirk.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Buster075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandysan0189, Owner at Herges on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Mmm........ I'm glad that you enjoyed both our service and food, but frankly do not understand your other comments.
We attract mainly local people, who regularly return and I do wonder if you have dined out much in Edinburgh? Our prices hardly reflect the quality and culinary skill that goes into our menu.
Sorry that you did not enjoy what our restaurant offers but I suppose no one can please all of the people all of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were very impressed with the location, food and service. Would highly recommend and will visit again when in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jools70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandysan0189, Manager at Herges on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you very much and look forward to you visiting again next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Visited here with a business partner several weeks ago. Steaks were AMAZING!!! Great views, reasonable prices and attentive staff.

Thank BArryGrey-HEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herges on the Loch also viewed

Galashiels, Borders
Galashiels, Borders
 
Melrose, Borders
 

Been to Herges on the Loch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing