We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clovenfords Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Galashiels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a 3-night stay here over half term. As the name suggests, it is a small country inn located in a tiny village near the town of Galashiels. It is only an hour away from Edinburgh and is a comfortable and welcoming place with connections to Sir Walter Scott and a good "country pub" ambience, complete with log fires.

The breakfasts were always good and we had two very good evening meals there as well. It's not the cheapest restaurant to eat in but it's by no means the most expensive and the food is of very good quality and beautifully cooked. Plenty of local people seemed to use the restaurant as well which is always a good sign - especially if it's during the week.

We had the family room and were very pleased with the beds as our son had his own and all was very comfortable. However, it was clear that it had not been possible to plumb the bathroom into the main sewerage system as our toilet had something called a "mascerator" on it which activated noisily when you flushed it and without going into too many details, did make this basic human function more of an event than it should have been!

There was also evidence of a rain leak to the roof as part of the walls and ceiling in our room were unplastered and there was a slight smell to it, which was very off-putting.

There didn't appear to be a "mascerator" in the general "Ladies" which I used so I'm guessing it's only in certain rooms, although the young lady on duty when we left didn't seem to know anything about it when we asked.

For this reason only, I couldn't whole-heartedly recommend "Clovenfords" which is a shame because it's a lovely welcoming place in a pretty location.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the family room, if possible.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Stevie6467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Staff were very pleasant and helpful but single room was too small and had no window. Shower room also small but did have a window and only a small strip light over mirror which was not over the w.h.b. Single wardrobe was very unstable. Bed comfortable and facilities in room generally OK. Evening meal was very well cooked and presented and breakfast was good. Reasonable value for money. Parking is in street adjacent to hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get the single room No.8. Front facing rooms will have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rslgmjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in the twin room overlooking the car park and the green hills across the valley. The room was just a bit dated, though clean and reasonably comfortable, but had all the amenities one might expect. The shower was good, but we had a little trouble with the lights in the bath. Dinner was fine, price reasonable. Breakfast was good. Staff was pleasant.

The inn is located on the roundabout in Clovenfords, about four miles down the road from Galashiels, in the opposite direction from Melrose.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floating_stump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The beds are firm but very comfortable. The shower is piping hot and of monsoon like proportions.The breakfast was a well cooked scrumptious feast. The staff are friendly, helpful and always cheerful. There is good parking but not a cash machine for miles. It is a little shabby in places and the front bedrooms are a little noisy during dinner service but I may just being a bit picky. We have every intention of staying here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_Hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We returned here to stay as we enjoyed it 3 years ago. Ross and his team made our stay so enjoyable that we just did not wish to leave. Jackie and Rhona (breakfast host) were so polite, helpful, friendly and genuinely looked after their guests. A party of 7 of us had our evening meal on the Saturday evening and we had no complaints, service and food (1st Class) even although there was a Private Birthday Party taking place within the glass conservatory. They are in the process of refurbishing the bedrooms so please be kind to them and remember that you are staying in a very old coaching inn and not a Flashy Hotel so keep that in mind.
Thank you all once again for such a lovely stay and already looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoweOTheMearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is probably best described as being 'a little tired' as it is in great need of smartening up. That said, the room (No.3) was comfortable with firm beds permitting a really good sleep. Excellent breakfasts and wonderfully friendly staff. But oh, those damned jackdaws!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKVocalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Had Saturday evening dinner here recently. Haddock and chips were excellent with imaginative presentation and garden peas cooked to perfection. Delicious sorbet. Excellent value for money. Young staff polite and efficient. Well done.
We look forward to returning with friends soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank frr137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
5.3 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
7.4 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
229 reviews
6.3 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
323 reviews
9.3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clovenfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clovenfords Hotel

Address: 1 Vine Street | Clovenfords, Galashiels TD1 3LU, Scotland (Formerly The Clovenfords Country Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Galashiels
Price Range: £63 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clovenfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clovenfords Hotel is situated in the village of Clovenfords in the heart of the Scottish Borders. It is only 3 miles from the busy Borders town of Galashiels. Edinburgh and other Scottish Borders towns including Melrose, Kelso, Jedburgh, Hawick and Peebles are all easily accessible. In the immediate area activities such as fishing (on the River Tweed), mountain biking (Glentress), golfing, shooting and off road driving are all readily available to hotel guests.The Clovenfords Hotel has all the character, warmth and friendly charm you would expect from an 18th century coaching inn. We look forward to extending to you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Clovenfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clovenfords Hotel Galashiels
The Clovenfords Hotel Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing