We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Wedding Reception”
Review of Kingsknowes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsknowes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Galashiels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

First of all I have to congratulate all the staff who worked indefatigably throughout my son's wedding reception, Nothing was left unattended, As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the staff who genuinely had our interests at heart, this was overall feeling by all the guests.
The food throughout the day and night was simply wonderful, served most efficiently by the most courteous staff.
Due to the nature of this baronial style building, the presence of well being is everywhere, simply put this hotel does what I normally expect from some 5 star hotels but a a fraction of the price.
The bedrooms were unbelievable, large, wonderful views over the rolling fields, also extremely clean and full of appliances you would appreciate in a 5 star hotel.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wishing to have their reception there, or even simply to have a relaxing weekend away, well done all once again.

Room Tip: Having been in most of the rooms, they are all excellent, only some larger than others, however none...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

.For the past four weeks on and off I have been working away from home and staying at the Kingsknowes hotel and each time I leave I am looking forward to the next time that I visit. This is a family run hotel and from the moment you walk in you can tell, the staff are incredible, and are the real heart of the establishment with nothing being too much trouble and always make sure that your stay is home from home. I wish more hotels could be like this run by real people and not the false, lifeless type that you get in many big chain hotels. The food is excellent, each evening meal and hearty breakfast was presented well and the chefs obviously know there flavours. Inside the hotel your first encounter is the very beautiful reception hall which leads through to the very elegant conservatory. The bedrooms are of good proportions and are well maintained and very clean with a lovely comfortable bed. The gardens are absolutely stunning with a back drop view of mountain ranges that change colour with the sunlight. To sum up this is a really lovely hotel run by genuinely kind and friendly people and is highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We didn't stay here, but what a find! We were driving from one place to another on our 2-week trip in Scotland when we saw the sign for this castle hotel. We pulled in to see what we could see and ended up having tea on the front lawn with a most gorgeous view of the lake. It was a brilliant sunny day, and I can still picture our lovely tea, the view, and the gracious people who took care of us. Thanks so much for a delightful memory!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Good place to stay for a visit to the Borders. Room 18 is perfect for a family of four: huge master bed room, small twin room, good beds, good bathroom. Nice garden and conservatory for the afternoon and to have diner. Also the bar is a nice place to have diner. Good food, fair prices. A place we would recommend. We visited some abbeys and the coast (North Berwick), which both are worth visiting. Also the scenery is worth driving through.

Room Tip: Room 18 is perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Booked a table on the Gala Day, Well where do I start we were in the dining room on our own eventually a young chap that gave the impression he could not care less served us.He was going back to uni and could not wait anyway we were served our main course and thats as far as we got, never to see a waiter again I had to go to the kitchens and ask are we getting a sweet.No success main course plates still on table we paid the bill only to come across the owner outside the diningroom, we explained our grievances and hey a complimentery sweet was offered.Sorry Kingsknowes if the waiter cannot offer this we will not be back. Beware.!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank galaleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here for one night on way North, phoned ahead as travelling with dog to make sure he would be welcome, asked specifically where he would and would not be allowed, we are aware not everyone wants to be with our dog, was assured he would be allowed in the conservatory so decided to stay as he would be able to be with us when we ate and not left alone in the room, well, we arrived after a long drive more than ready for a drink and meal only to be told they were using the conservatory for meals and we would be welcome to eat outside!!! I asked the young man why we had been told on the phone it would be fine to be in the conservatory only to be told that they had decided to use the conservatory, we would have booked somewhere else had we been aware of this. We sat outside and had a drink then went to the room and ate the complimentary biscuits and shared a sandwich we had left from lunch, then we got a call to say we could use the conservatory after all!!! we decided against it.

The room was large, the bed comfortable, plenty of hot water and large towels but the radiator in the bathroom could not be turned off and it was red hot! the same young man as before said the people in the room the previous night had just covered it with towels , the room was overpoweringly warm, I asked for a fan which was supplied but it was a small desk top one which was fairly ineffectual so we wedged open the windows with towels as there seemed no other way to keep them open.

Breakfast was ok nothing special, as a previous review said it is in the middle of an housing estate which wasnt a problem as we only stayed one night, we wouldnt stay here again and honestly I cant for the life in me see how the rave reviews we believed have been earned.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 46alfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here for one night and were thrilled to bits with our room - number 18, on the first floor, which is a huge suite, with a massive double bed, another room with two single beds and a bathroom with bath and separate shower. The service could not be faulted - every member of staff was polite and friendly, and the location is lovely, with views across to the Eildon Hills. It's within 15-20 minutes walk of Galashiels town centre, but very easy to find. We went out to eat, mainly because the restaurant was fully booked but we had a couple of drinks in the cosy bar before heading out.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leemurphy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
3.7 mi away
The Clovenfords Hotel
The Clovenfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Galashiels
188 reviews
2.6 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
327 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
986 reviews
17.9 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
793 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsknowes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsknowes Hotel

Address: Selkirk Rd, Galashiels TD1 3HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Galashiels
Price Range: £69 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsknowes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingsknowes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsknowes Hotel Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing