We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House in Stunning Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hawick, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

MJStrevs
Longniddry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful House in Stunning Location”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Branxholm Knowe House was absolutely perfect! Great location just 5 minutes outside Hawick with stunning views of the countryside and completely private. The house is a great size and even with groups of 10 you never feel that there is not enough room. The hot tub is amazing and a great addition to the house which really gives it an edge over similar properties.

Could not recommend the place more and look forward to going back again to enjoy the BBQ house which unfortunately we did not get a chance to use.

Great value for money also. Thanks Ian for letting us use the the house this weekend had the best time!

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Thank you - we are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend! We would love to welcome you back! Kind regards, The Dowling family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraht601
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming country home with Added Extras”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was no short drive from Glasgow but it was worth it. It's a charming grand home in a beautiful, peaceful location. The situation of the house against the side of a hill means that the conservatory and garden at the back are not overlooked. All you can see out the windows is flowers growing up the hillside and neighbouring fields. We spent loads of time in the hot tub - and the Finnish bbq hut was a great bonus. It looks like a cute log house for hobbits from the outside but there's plenty of room inside for 10 adults to sit in a circle round the grill. The interior of the house is well appointed and beds very comfortable. I hope to be going back some day.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted you all enjoyed Branxholm Knowe and we hope you do return! Kind regards, The Dowling family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R
1 review
“Wonderful stay at a beautiful home”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My family and I booked Branxholm Knowe House for a relaxing weekend away as a Christmas present for my parents. We had the most wonderful time - the booking process was easy and the owners extremely helpful and accommodating. The house is stunning (very clean) with a beautiful garden and a hot tub. Couldn't have asked for any more from our stay! We will definitely be visiting again!

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Thank you so much - we are pleased to hear your parents enjoyed their Christmas present at Branxholm Knowe! We really do hope you visit again and look forward to welcoming you! Kind regards, Ian & Sally Dowling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Thank you for talking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your family weekend at Branxholm Knowe. Thanks again, Ian and Sally Dowling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
charlotte...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect house for a family Christmas”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas week at Branxholm Knowe. The house is spacious, comfortable and equipped to a high standard, and was beautifully decorated for the festive season. We loved the wood burning stoves for cosy evenings and the large dining room for getting the whole family together for meals. The hot tub and BBQ hut were great fun, the kids absolutely loved them. The surrounding area is great for walking and biking. All in all a fantastic holiday house.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
We are delighted you enjoyed your Christmas at Branxholm Knowe and thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay! We hope we have the chance to welcome you back sometime soon! Kind regards, Ian and Sally Dowling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise B
Banbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Luxurious house in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 2 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here in beautiful winter weather and thoroughly enjoyed the luxury of Branxholm Knowe. The warm welcome and spacious but cosy house was really appreciated by all. We found everything needed for six adults and two grandchildren - the hot tub was used every day even in -5 temperatures! The kitchen is well equipped and the rooms tastefully decorated in keeping with the style of the house. Lots of space inside and out in the lovely garden for privacy and peace and quiet. Thank you for a memorable stay!

Date of stay: November 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Dec 2016
Thank you - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Branxholm Knowe! I am very impressed you managed to brave sub zero temperatures to use the hot tub - obviously made of sterner stuff in Northern Ireland!
Thanks again, Ian and Sally Dowling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Date of stay: November 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Thank you! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed Branxholm Knowe and hope you do come back and visit! Kind regards, Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.