We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Forth year in row”
other travellers have booked this property
Private driveway approaching the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private driveway approaching the house
Front of the house Large garden room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Private driveway approaching the house
Front of the house
Large garden room
Garden room with Gazebo / hot tub outside
Dining room from the hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen with door through to garden room
Rear of the house
Gardens looking back to the house
Double bedroom
Dining room
Garden room
Hallway
En suite bedroom
Bedroom
En suite bathroom
Bedroom with king size bed
Double bedroom
Sitting room with open fire
Dining room
Outdoor hot tub
Our BBQ 'Hobbit' house!
View to the house in winter
View from the ponds to Border countryside
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hawick, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
twyersroe...
Hawick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Forth year in row”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Another lovely stay for all the family in this large family home. House large enough for bad weather days especially with hot tub.
Each year we compare other properties and find this one is our favourite.
Good for kids, pets and parents.
Local mountain bike rides and park.
Owners a pleasure to deal with, any problem their just a call away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you - we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay again! We look forward to welcoming you back next year! Ian and Sally Dowling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you - we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Branxholm Knowe! We hope you can find time to visit again. Kind regards, Ian and Sally Dowling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tina A
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had a brilliant week for my dad's 70th birthday. We had stayed before so knew what such a beautiful house it was with lush gardens and the sun room we used all the time. Theres tons of room for everyone and never felt on top of each other we had 5 adults 3 children and 2 dogs and plenty of space. This year even better with the added addition of the hot tub and bbq Hut ( which was referred to all week as the hobbit house lol). Again everything you need home from home with added little touches like the lovely flowers and a welcome pack. So once again thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our home Branxholm Knowe. We are so pleased you had a lovely family time celebrating your dad's 70th birthday! We hope to welcome you back. Kind regards, Ian and Sally Dowling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorias...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great break away”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had a wonderful relaxing Easter break in the cottage. Great space for our family of 8 to move around in comfortably. The conservatory area was brilliant for evenings by the fire. Outside space was excellent for super games of hide and seek! The hot tube was enjoyed by all in a great location. We never used the BBQ hut but would have been a great extra if required.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thank you! Great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Branxholm Knowe - we also love the conservatory/garden room in the evening! The Dowling family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S
1 review
“Beautiful House in Stunning Location”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Branxholm Knowe House was absolutely perfect! Great location just 5 minutes outside Hawick with stunning views of the countryside and completely private. The house is a great size and even with groups of 10 you never feel that there is not enough room. The hot tub is amazing and a great addition to the house which really gives it an edge over similar properties.

Could not recommend the place more and look forward to going back again to enjoy the BBQ house which unfortunately we did not get a chance to use.

Great value for money also. Thanks Ian for letting us use the the house this weekend had the best time!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Thank you - we are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend! We would love to welcome you back! Kind regards, The Dowling family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charming country home with Added Extras”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was no short drive from Glasgow but it was worth it. It's a charming grand home in a beautiful, peaceful location. The situation of the house against the side of a hill means that the conservatory and garden at the back are not overlooked. All you can see out the windows is flowers growing up the hillside and neighbouring fields. We spent loads of time in the hot tub - and the Finnish bbq hut was a great bonus. It looks like a cute log house for hobbits from the outside but there's plenty of room inside for 10 adults to sit in a circle round the grill. The interior of the house is well appointed and beds very comfortable. I hope to be going back some day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted you all enjoyed Branxholm Knowe and we hope you do return! Kind regards, The Dowling family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R
1 review
“Wonderful stay at a beautiful home”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My family and I booked Branxholm Knowe House for a relaxing weekend away as a Christmas present for my parents. We had the most wonderful time - the booking process was easy and the owners extremely helpful and accommodating. The house is stunning (very clean) with a beautiful garden and a hot tub. Couldn't have asked for any more from our stay! We will definitely be visiting again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Thank you so much - we are pleased to hear your parents enjoyed their Christmas present at Branxholm Knowe! We really do hope you visit again and look forward to welcoming you! Kind regards, Ian & Sally Dowling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing