We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best night we have spent in a b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 20 Hawick B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had a lovely welcome, the rooms were excellent very clean and comfortable. Jane and Norman were wonderful hosts and the food was lovely. The house is a lovely design and very well situated to see lots of wildlife and the gardens etc. We had our elderly dog with us and they were very accommodating with him as well. Overall a lovely and relaxing night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope your Hogmanay was as good as anticipated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

What a fabulous place to stay. This is a beautiful b&b and we weren't surprised when we were told that Jane and Norman used to run a hotel - it shows.
The room and bathroom were of a very high specification and we were delighted to have a lounge too. Not just any lounge but a lounge that opened out on to the decking area with the beautiful scenery all around. It was interesting to see how self-sufficent Jane and Norman were and their concern for the environment.
It felt very confortable being in someone else's home which is always important for a b&b. Jane and Norman were wonderful hosts.
And they didn't mind the motorbike and all the paraphernalia that goes with biking. Indeed, they welcome bikers. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda_boxall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

As we said when you left we are very happy to have members of the biking community to stay with us.Tank you for understanding what we are trying to achieve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

A very warm welcome from Jane and Norman who draw on many years experience as hoteliers in the highlands. A beautiful modern architect design house with an exceptional residents lounge.
Our evening meal on Sunday was excellent. Home cooked food and not a microwave to be seen. Fruit and vegetables from the garden and locally sourced meat.
Breakfast was a culinary delight. Home baked bread and toast. Home made marmalades. Porridged served from the Aga. This was above and beyond what you would expect from the best of B&B's.
I should add we where travelling with my elderly Mother and the help offered and given by Jane and Norman was outstanding. We will be back.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

It's always nice for us to be so appreciated in what we do, we are very grateful to you and others who take the time out to put a comment on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This has to be my favourite place in Scotland! In fact, I'd say it's in my top three UK destinations. I've visited twice now and it's the perfect spot for a relaxing break. Breathtaking location, beautiful locally sourced food and an outstanding personal touch that really makes you feel at home - what more can you ask for?! I live in London and from the moment you drive up to the chocolate box house, set amongst the rolling hills, it's like the chaos of the big smoke is a million miles away. A warm welcome, exceptional food and cosy surroundings make this an idyllic setting for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

We are glad you have fallen in love with the Borders and we feel privileged to be able to live here. All our visitors have complimented us on the design of the house and we are so lucky that it fits into our woodland so well. We hope to so see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Jane and Norman welcomed us very warmly in their beautiful wooden house surrounded by lovely landscapes. We watched an exceptional sunset from our bedroom window and had a delicious evening meal, obvioulsy cooked by someone who enjoys cooking for others and sharing food. The room was very confortable and had a lot of information about what to do in the area. The bathroom is luxirious and bigger than our own at home!
I particularly enjoyed having breakfast in the sun overlooking the vegetable garden and the woods.
Overall a more than pleasant stay. I would definitely come back to Brae Cottage!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelaKuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was the first stop of a two-week trip and it was the best place of all. Jane and Norman are very welcoming and helpful, We booked a dinner with them and it was exquisite--stuffed salmon to die for--and they cooked porridge for us all night on their auger for breakfast the next morning! Gorgeous views from their deck. Off the beaten track but well worth a visit. The owners' previous experience of running a hotel on the Island of Mull really shows in their attention to guests on this smaller scale. Two dogs, two birds, and a cat add more coziness to an already beautiful, light, and airy timber eco home. Superb place!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michwlw_M57257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

.
Thank you. We enjoyed your visit with us and we would love to meet up with you again if you come this way again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
4.7 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Colterscleuch House & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Brougham House  B&B
Brougham House B&B
#5 of 20 in Hawick
57 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bridge House Guest House
Bridge House Guest House
#20 of 20 in Hawick
26 reviews
5.4 mi away
Elm Guest House
Elm Guest House
#6 of 20 in Hawick
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Blacklee Brae | Bonchester Bridge, Hawick TD9 9TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Price Range: £60 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Brae Cottage Bed And Breakfast Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing