We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 20 Hawick B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Lovely B & B, big purpose-built modrn house, with huge residents' lounge and big comfortable bedroom and ensuite (we had the ground floor room). Very friendly and professional hosts, lovely dogs, grreat location with stunning views, we were only sad as we had a big meal the night before we couldn't realy do justice to the breakfast on offer, though I managed to force down some excellent smoked salmon and scrambled eggs! Will definitely use again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliav50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your very positive review. We enjoyed having you to stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked this accommodation because it catered for disabled. The entrance was completely disabled friendly with a ramp to the decking and side entrance. Everything was on one level and if required a wheelchair could access all facilities. An excellent facility supplied was a shower stool.
Compared with most Disabled friendly accommodation Brae cottage offered excellent facilities and a VERY friendly welcome.
The only criticism (if any) would be the lack of grab rails around the toilet which would have allowed my husband to use the loo by himself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjw54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for your positive review and your very kind personal email to us. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope we will see you on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a lovely spot, in the peaceful rolling hills outside the tiny hamlet of Bonchester Bridge, which is about 8 miles from Hawick or Jedburgh.
There's a guests' lounge, which looks out on a pretty cottage garden, surrounded by trees. There's an area of decking outside, which is a great spot in the sun. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Our bathroom was particularly spacious. Shower good. Breakfasts good, lots of choice. There's a wealth of tourist info to read, as well as loads of books.
However the most important thing about this place is the hospitality. You won't find a friendlier couple than Jane and Norman. They provide lots of nice personal touches and will do anything to make your stay more comfortable.
There's nice walking to be had from the doorstep. We walked up Bonchester Hill, which has great views from the top. The pub in the hamlet is walkable too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hackenabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review. We enjoyed having you both and hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We were delighted to return for another stay at this delightful property. Everything is geared to make your stay as relaxing and pleasant as possible. A very good choice of breakfast options, freshly prepared, comfortable beds, and use of the lounge, together with sociable hosts make this a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

It was good of you to take the time to review your stay. We enjoyed meeting you both again and hope to see you on another of your visits to the Borders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had a lovely welcome, the rooms were excellent very clean and comfortable. Jane and Norman were wonderful hosts and the food was lovely. The house is a lovely design and very well situated to see lots of wildlife and the gardens etc. We had our elderly dog with us and they were very accommodating with him as well. Overall a lovely and relaxing night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope your Hogmanay was as good as anticipated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

What a fabulous place to stay. This is a beautiful b&b and we weren't surprised when we were told that Jane and Norman used to run a hotel - it shows.
The room and bathroom were of a very high specification and we were delighted to have a lounge too. Not just any lounge but a lounge that opened out on to the decking area with the beautiful scenery all around. It was interesting to see how self-sufficent Jane and Norman were and their concern for the environment.
It felt very confortable being in someone else's home which is always important for a b&b. Jane and Norman were wonderful hosts.
And they didn't mind the motorbike and all the paraphernalia that goes with biking. Indeed, they welcome bikers. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda_boxall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

As we said when you left we are very happy to have members of the biking community to stay with us.Tank you for understanding what we are trying to achieve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

A very warm welcome from Jane and Norman who draw on many years experience as hoteliers in the highlands. A beautiful modern architect design house with an exceptional residents lounge.
Our evening meal on Sunday was excellent. Home cooked food and not a microwave to be seen. Fruit and vegetables from the garden and locally sourced meat.
Breakfast was a culinary delight. Home baked bread and toast. Home made marmalades. Porridged served from the Aga. This was above and beyond what you would expect from the best of B&B's.
I should add we where travelling with my elderly Mother and the help offered and given by Jane and Norman was outstanding. We will be back.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L, Owner at Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

It's always nice for us to be so appreciated in what we do, we are very grateful to you and others who take the time out to put a comment on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
4.7 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Colterscleuch House & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bridge House Guest House
Bridge House Guest House
#20 of 20 in Hawick
26 reviews
5.4 mi away
Brougham House  B&B
Brougham House B&B
#5 of 20 in Hawick
57 reviews
5.4 mi away
Elm Guest House
Elm Guest House
#7 of 20 in Hawick
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Blacklee Brae | Bonchester Bridge, Hawick TD9 9TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Price Range: £60 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Brae Cottage Bed And Breakfast Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing