We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, let down by breakfast”
Review of Elm Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elm Guest House
Ranked #5 of 20 Hawick B&B and Inns
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, let down by breakfast”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The rooms are excellent; our double would have qualified as a suite anywhere else! Welcoming staff, Wi-Fi available, clean, comfortable, private car parking.
The breakfast was disappointing. Porage seemed "instant" and although I asked for sugar free, it was sickly sweet - inedible to me. As I chose porage I seemed ineligible for even a small cooked breakfast. My husband had the full one, but found the bacon hard, overcooked, the sausage inedible, (what was it made from??) and solid fired egg.
I would recommend the hotel as a very good base for touring and hope the morning chef can buck his/her ideas up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singap0re47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    40
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
34
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed overnight at the Elm House to break a trip home from North West Scotland. We were very impressed by the quality of the room and the hotel in general. We thought it excellent value for money. The dinner was tasty and the breakfast was really good. The staff were all very friendly and professional; nothing was too much trouble for them. There was nothing to fault and, for the cost of DB&B, it represents really good value. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We arrived, with reservations, at the front door of this hotel at 2pm and couldn't get in. We rang the doorbell several times, knocked several times, waited 15 minutes and no on came to let us in. Finally, we decided to walk to the visitor's information center to see if they could help us find another place to stay. On the way, I asked a local if the hotel had closed and she advised us to go around to the service door at the back of the hotel. We were able to gain admittance that way. Once inside, we found an attendant within 10 feet of the front door but she said she never heard us ring or knock. The room was a large, traditionally appointed room. However, it was directly over the dining room. We were informed if we wanted dinner at the hotel, we would need to eat at 6pm because of a birthday party which had reserved the room at 7pm. We complied and had an acceptable meal, though nothing to write home about. The party was a loud, drunken and raucous crowd of over 20 people that continued until after 1am. Hotel staff made no effort to disperse the party at an earlier hour or to quiet the crowd as they partied in the dining room and in the street outside the hotel. I am sure that if I had created that much commotion in my bedroom and was disturbing the other guest as much as they were, that I would have been asked to leave. Instead the hotel stall did nothing to ensure their paying customers could get any kind of sleep that night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Room prices are very good. Rooms are fresh and spotlessly clean. Hospitality is excellent and the Scottish breakfast is very good. Friendly staff and all were made welcome. Will be back again. Hawick is a lovely place to visit. The new owners have done the hotel up to a good standard. We stayed as friends going to Teviotdale Centre and thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamlassLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a lovely three nights at this hotel and were super impressed with the staff - friendly, helpful and professional from morning till night. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. On site parking and wi-fi were also much appreciated. It was very affordable and excellent value for our family of four, and I would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, as for a room on the first floor. Our was on the top floor but we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We staged there for a week.there was a mix up from Botel smart but Lynn sorted everything out for the four off us.
One of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in in years. And also the best breakfast.smoked salmon and eggs everyday.
When we work in the area Elm House would be our first choice

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank listcom26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

we have being coming to Hawick for a few years now and we have always stayed at the Elms and the service has been excellent but since it has gone under new management the service is still excellent the staff are friendly and we always have a nice welcome from Lynne and her staff. the breakfasts are excellent so full after. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Hawick to stay there.
Melissa and Roger (Llandudno North Wales)

Room Tip: Number12 The Annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEL190724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
1.0 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawick
20 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
22.3 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
9.5 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Guest House

Property: Elm Guest House
Address: 17 North Bridge Street, Hawick TD9 9BD, Scotland (Formerly Elm House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elm Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elm House Hotel is in old area of Hawick the hotel is family run by Stephen, Lynn and family. The Elm serves coffee in mornings in our new refurbished bar. We have 8 Annex rooms which are budget rooms starting at £ 50.00 Per person which is good for workers, walkers and cyclists. In main hotel we have 8 rooms done to a high standard starting from £65.00 Per person inc breakfast. We can cater for bus runs for tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Guest House Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing