We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total crook!!! Kept debit card details and took money without authorisation”
Review of Elm Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elm Guest House
Ranked #6 of 20 Hawick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This proprieter is totally unprofessional !!!

We booked in for Friday 19th March 2010. We paid a £20.00 deposit by debit card to secure the room a fortnight in advance.

Due to a sudden family bereavement on thurs 18th March 2010 we forgot to cancel the booking.
He phoned us on the 19th at around 9pm and we apologized profusely as that was the first of us thinking of the booking due to the circumstances.

He was quite rude, and informed my fiance that we should have cancelled 40 hours previous to the booking or the full balance is payable (please note that we were never informed about this fact verbally or in writing, it is not even on the website). He said he would be taking the remaining balance of £40.00 for the room from the debit card. My fiance told him that he would contact him the following day to discuss this matter further.

Now being a proprieter myself I know that if you are professional and have terms & conditions then you have to state them in writing or you cannot enforce them at all. If a customer cancels then they lose their deposit, unless stated clearly no other balance should be payable.

At NO time at all did my fiance give this man authorisation to either keep the card details or take any further balances from the debit card.

We discovered the next day that he had taken the £40.00 on the 19th.

My Fiance phoned the proprieter on the 20th and again his attitude was very frosty, insisting that he had every right to take the money since we did not cancel the booking. We informed him that we would be contacting Trading Standards on Monday morning and giving him a bad report on here, his reply being "I don't doubt you will, you can do whatever you like, I couldn't care less"

To me this is THEFT, plain and simple. This man had absolutely no sympathy for our circumstances. Yes it is hard running a business in the current climate, I run a business myself. We did NOT do this intentionally, paying a deposit more or less guaranteed us turning up for heavens sake !!! When you suffer a sudden family beareavent I really think a night out is the last thing on your mind !!!

I think this proprieter should really think about a career change as his customer service skills are terrible. He should not treat any fellow human being like this, he has no compassion at all therefor he should not be dealing with the general public !!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
11  Thank FiferScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 123 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2008

It was a fantastic stay. Everyone was so helpful and the standard of cleanliness was really high, with quick service. Breakfast was excellent as were the meals in the bar or restaurant area.

Great place to go with lots to see and do.

Hawick seems to have a lot more about it these days and the BeanScene Cafe is fantastic.

Great stay at the Elm House Hotel Hawick.

Best wishes.

Tricia Garvey

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TriciaHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
17149
Reviewed 12 December 2004

We recently stayed in the Elm House Hotel on a driving tour of Scotland. The hotel is situated in the town centre and is convenient for restaurants, shops and pubs. The hotel was clean, warm and welcoming and very reasonably priced. The facilities were a little dated (black & white TV in room), but this was not a problem as far as I was concerned. The hotel has its own free car park and a small friendly bar, which seemed to be frequented by locals as well as guests.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank taropapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawick hotels
1 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Hawick
33 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brougham House  B&B
Brougham House B&B
#5 of 20 in Hawick
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wiltonburn Farm
Wiltonburn Farm
#4 of 7 in Hawick
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge House Guest House
Bridge House Guest House
#20 of 20 in Hawick
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Guest House

Address: 17 North Bridge Street, Hawick TD9 9BD, Scotland (Formerly Elm House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Price Range: £67 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elm Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elm House Hotel is in old area of Hawick the hotel is family run by Stephen, Lynn and family. The Elm serves coffee in mornings in our new refurbished bar. We have 8 Annex rooms which are budget rooms starting at £ 50.00 Per person which is good for workers, walkers and cyclists. In main hotel we have 8 rooms done to a high standard starting from £65.00 Per person inc breakfast. We can cater for bus runs for tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Guest House Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing