We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawick
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Break”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just back from a weekend break, couldn't have been better, beautiful comfortable clean room, very friendly staff & excellent freshly cook food. Ideal for a quiet break away from home, enjoyed the chat from the friendly locals, all in all a little gem hidden away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    67
    18
    9
    11
See reviews for
20
123
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Having recently had the pleasure of spending a 2 night break with my better half in the Horse and Hound Country Inn, I felt compelled to write an honest review as way of thanks to the staff who looked after us so well.
Room - very clean very comfortable bed ( be pragmatic it's not the ritz but it's everything u need and want)

Food - delicious and reasonable, enough said.

Location - breathtaking as good as anything the highlands have to offer

Staff - friendly approachable and show a genuine willingness to go the extra mile to make your stay special

Would I go back- already plan to

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kevmcp1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

What a lovely 3 night break we have just had.Pleasant pub, nice food, great surroundings excellent hospitality from owners and staff. Would recommend. Many thanks for a great stay. Would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank f0xes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was a last minute much needed get away and wow did we make the right choice!! From the warm welcome we got from the friendly owners and staff to the extremely comfortable rooms.. best nights sleep we have both had in a long time. Quiet rural location away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Lovely home cooked food: breakfast and dinner. we did not feel the need to go elsewhere to eat. we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just returned from a very relaxing 2 night stay. We were made welcome from the moment we arrived. Room very nice, clean and warm. Food good, breakfast excellent - as much as you want to eat. Owners were excellent hosts. Well used by locals - good atmosphere. Lovely quiet spot within easy driving distance of border towns. Good value for money. Glad we found this place, will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Oh dear if this is what is being reviewed as being homely, warm and friendly then we must have been in another place as the restaurant was anything but .Food choice basic served on cold plates in a cold atmosphere. A warming fire for a country inn would be welcoming.Would we return?Most definitely not.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank soloszyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This country inn is like a home from home, the staff and owners are extremely friendly. We stayed on New Years Eve and even though the kitchen was closed and we hadn't pre-ordered an evening meal they still made us something to eat, with options. We had a 3 course meal and it was only £26 for the 2 of us. Very reasonable on all prices, rooms, food and drinks. We loved it so much we are booked to go back in February. I can't recommend this place highly enough. It's set in the middle of a small Scottish borders village with good walks in the hills around it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
4.7 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
16.4 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
147 reviews
5.8 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawick
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Wiltonburn Farm
Wiltonburn Farm
#4 of 7 in Hawick
22 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
12.3 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse and Hound Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse and Hound Country Inn

Property: The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Address: Bonchester Bridge, Hawick TD9 9SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horse and Hound Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horse and Hound Country Inn is a 300 year old Coaching Inn nestled in the heart of the Scottish Borders. Idea for all types of country pursuits as well as for walkers, cyclists and those just here to chill out and wander around the local Abbey towns. Our 9 en-suite bedrooms are decorated to a high standard with steam showers in some rooms. There is a spacious lounge bar and restaurant serving Traditional Scottish Pub Fayre using fresh local produce where available. The public bar with its roaring log fire is a great place to relax with a pint of real ale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Horse and Hound Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horse And Hound Country Hotel Hawick
Country Inn Hawick
Hawick Country Inn
The Horse And Hound Country Inn Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing