We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horse and Hound Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hawick
Certificate of Excellence
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rural comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for two nights which we thoroughly enjoyed. Room (1) was comfortable and adequate re space even though we had two collies in it. So quiet none of us were disturbed until alarm activated. Food was very good at reasonable price and fairly wide menu choice.
Staff and hosts were most helpful and it was a pleasure to be served by them.
We would thoroughly recommend this country inn to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    63
    18
    9
    11
See reviews for
20
120
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Very warm welcome friendly host and staff. Location remote but that was what we wanted. Beautiful countryside and an area of the boarders I would visit again. Food was fab. Would recommend and would stay again jna heart beat. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tangles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Horse & Hounds is situated in a nice quiet area, we spent a weekend there in April and were given a warm welcome on arrival. All the staff were very friendly, our meals delicious, our room was pleasantly furnished and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyrshireRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mills, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Hospitality was on point and could not be faulted. Food was above normal pub standard food, extremely delicious. Nice selection of ales too. Would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there with my family for the Hawick common riding great food and rooms. staff very polite and helpful, lovely scenery would definitely stay there again although it was a little way out but worth it

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knightride3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We initially had a little hiccup with the reservation, die to an oversight... But I have to say everything was fine to ensure we had a room for the night... As we would be arriving exceptionally late due to my daughter competing in a local rally. The gentleman at reception was so understanding when we arrived at 02.30 tired! He had even phoned to check our arrival and welcomed us warmly, showed us to our rooms quickly... The room spotless, also recently renovated with very squishy carpet.... Lovely... We had a very restful sleep. The breakfast was nice and the staff incredibly accommodating.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Tilly (Spaniel) and I (Harvey the Airedale) took our humans on a 4 day break. Lovely setting,warm comfortable hotel with welcoming dog friendly (most important) hosts. Excellent food. Intend taking the humans back again in the future. Throughly recommended.

Harvey

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
5.1 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
16.4 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
6.5 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Hawick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
12.4 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
6.4 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse and Hound Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse and Hound Country Inn

Property: The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Address: Bonchester Bridge, Hawick TD9 8JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hawick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horse and Hound Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horse and Hound Country Inn is a 300 year old Coaching Inn nestled in the heart of the Scottish Borders. Idea for all types of country pursuits as well as for walkers, cyclists and those just here to chill out and wander around the local Abbey towns. Our 9 en-suite bedrooms are decorated to a high standard with steam showers in some rooms. There is a spacious lounge bar and restaurant serving Traditional Scottish Pub Fayre using fresh local produce where available. The public bar with its roaring log fire is a great place to relax with a pint of real ale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Horse and Hound Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horse And Hound Country Hotel Hawick
Country Inn Hawick
Hawick Country Inn
The Horse And Hound Country Inn Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing