We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawick
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Lovely little inn.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed for two nights on a great Groupon deal. What a lovely place, great hosts, great room and peace and quiet around. The breakfast was very good and we had dinner both nights, great food and some very different dishes on the menu. It is in a lovely location and we asked for directions to go for a long walk on the second day, which was a lovely walk through the forest for about 5 miles, very enjoyable. Our only slight complaint would be lack of a good internet connection, we had to sit in a corner in the bar which was the only place to pick it up as I believe the whole area suffers from bad connection.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    67
    18
    9
    11
See reviews for
20
123
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

went under groupon deal with partner. welcome good , room fine, and food /service good. in the country but not far from anywhere. would go back. enjoyed finishing day at back in beer garden area watching sun going down/with a cold beer . priceless..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getuscum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for two nights which we thoroughly enjoyed. Room (1) was comfortable and adequate re space even though we had two collies in it. So quiet none of us were disturbed until alarm activated. Food was very good at reasonable price and fairly wide menu choice.
Staff and hosts were most helpful and it was a pleasure to be served by them.
We would thoroughly recommend this country inn to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Very warm welcome friendly host and staff. Location remote but that was what we wanted. Beautiful countryside and an area of the boarders I would visit again. Food was fab. Would recommend and would stay again jna heart beat. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tangles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Horse & Hounds is situated in a nice quiet area, we spent a weekend there in April and were given a warm welcome on arrival. All the staff were very friendly, our meals delicious, our room was pleasantly furnished and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyrshireRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mills, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Hospitality was on point and could not be faulted. Food was above normal pub standard food, extremely delicious. Nice selection of ales too. Would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there with my family for the Hawick common riding great food and rooms. staff very polite and helpful, lovely scenery would definitely stay there again although it was a little way out but worth it

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knightride3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
4.7 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawick
17 reviews
16.4 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Wiltonburn Farm
Wiltonburn Farm
#4 of 7 in Hawick
21 reviews
6.4 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
199 reviews
6.5 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse and Hound Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse and Hound Country Inn

Property: The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Address: Bonchester Bridge, Hawick TD9 9SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horse and Hound Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horse and Hound Country Inn is a 300 year old Coaching Inn nestled in the heart of the Scottish Borders. Idea for all types of country pursuits as well as for walkers, cyclists and those just here to chill out and wander around the local Abbey towns. Our 9 en-suite bedrooms are decorated to a high standard with steam showers in some rooms. There is a spacious lounge bar and restaurant serving Traditional Scottish Pub Fayre using fresh local produce where available. The public bar with its roaring log fire is a great place to relax with a pint of real ale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Horse and Hound Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horse And Hound Country Hotel Hawick
Country Inn Hawick
Hawick Country Inn
The Horse And Hound Country Inn Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing