We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A traditional Inn with a warm friendly atmosphere serving great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hawick
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A traditional Inn with a warm friendly atmosphere serving great food”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and can strongly recommend the Horse and Hound for anyone wanting a quiet break in a traditional Inn situated in marvellous countryside. Bonchester Bridge and the surrounding "borders" views are certainly stunning. We spent very enjoyable evenings having drinks with the “locals” and the new owners Lucy and Neil who were so proud of the changes they had made in the six months since they took on the Inn and their plans for the future.
The food was good, tasty and very filling, especially the full Scottish breakfast.
The room was good and very, very clean with a comfortable double bed. A big surprise was the steam room being part of the en-suite, which got a great deal of use.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    67
    18
    9
    12
See reviews for
20
123
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Trisha Davey is an excellent example of a scottish country licensee. Hard-working, aye cheerie, helpful, an excellent organiser. Motivates the staff to high standard. All of this for the clients' benefit. The brewers made a wise when they selected Mrs. Davey.
I'm amazed at two poor reviews. No requited love, someone with a grudge. In any case they are not true to our experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vouvray2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

From the minute we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel most welcome. Our luggage was taken to our rooms which were welcoming, warm and clean. We ate in every night. The menu was varied and made from fresh produce. Wonderful to get fresh vegs. I believe it is delivered three times a week. The only complaint, the portions are massive! The staff were extremely friendly and I should like to thank Tricia and her teams for a very enjoyable stay. On the fourth night the kitchen was out of action but that was not a problem we were provided with a wonderful salad.I should like to wish Tricia every sucess in the future from Granny and Grandad ( we are not really related!)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeNairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2009

after staying at the hotel i left with the intention of returning in the near future. the staff were all very welcoming and very pleasant.Food was great, home from home, with regards to review from john boy from edinburgh, im now convinced he must be talking about another hotel as this was not the hotel that he was describing, i have travelled all over the world and i would recommend this hotel to all my other stalking friends, i would like to thank trisha the manager and all the staff and all the locals for a fantastic stay see you all very soon

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stalkerno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmark
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2009

myself and my colleauges have been staying at this hotel since feb 09 and totally disagree with the comments made. yes the card machine has been out of service but staff made us aware of the situation. as for the food and beer being given comment i totally disagree it is excellent,the manager trisha and all the staff have always been helpful and courteous, during our evening in the hotel during meal service it is always quite busy and listening to other customers during this time and there comments are very positive. to close i would like to thank trisha and all members of staff for there hard work and excellent food and service which is second to none and i travel all round the world and stay in top class hotels which are great but at the horse and hound its like home from home would not stay anywhere else. carry on

Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hillwalker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

The staff are as good as useless . they all have attitude . The owner is not to be seen ever .

The beer is awful ( pipes not cleand Correctly ) and the food is not much better . That is when they have beer as they seem to run out of it more than they have it . The credit card machine does not work for the fourth week running .

This is a sinking ship and the staff are helping it down . One of the worst inns I have been to and I will not be back .

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_boy1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

Snow like I have not seen it for a very long time. All the roads in the Scottish Borders blocked. Travelling with my wife, we slid our car down a steep hill to come to rest in the village of Bonchester Bridge, into the car park of The Horse and Hound Country Inn. What a stroke of fate that turned out to be.
Although the Inn was closed the owners, seeing our plight (and that of others too), open up and gave us shelter and warmth.
What a delightful place! What wonderful people! We were met by such friendly smiles and helpful hands. None of the people stranded had come equiped for such conditions.
Staff were phoned and came to help us while we waited for the snow plough.
Not wanting to risk continuing the journey, even after the snow plough had been through, my wife and I decided to stay the night. It turned out to be one of the best decisions we have ever made.
The room was warm, comfortable and extremely clean. The shower was hot and so welcome.
Dinner that evening was good, wholesome food. Warming and plenty of it.
This Inn will certainly see us again. Wonderful Scottish hospitality!

  • Liked — Warm, comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank magicdilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
4.7 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
16.4 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
151 reviews
5.8 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Hawick
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
205 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
16.2 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse and Hound Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse and Hound Country Inn

Property: The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Address: Bonchester Bridge, Hawick TD9 9SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hawick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horse and Hound Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horse and Hound Country Inn is a 300 year old Coaching Inn nestled in the heart of the Scottish Borders. Idea for all types of country pursuits as well as for walkers, cyclists and those just here to chill out and wander around the local Abbey towns. Our 9 en-suite bedrooms are decorated to a high standard with steam showers in some rooms. There is a spacious lounge bar and restaurant serving Traditional Scottish Pub Fayre using fresh local produce where available. The public bar with its roaring log fire is a great place to relax with a pint of real ale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Horse and Hound Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horse And Hound Country Hotel Hawick
Country Inn Hawick
Hawick Country Inn
The Horse And Hound Country Inn Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing