We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most fantastic place for a wedding!”
other traveller has booked this property
front of Kippilaw House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of Kippilaw House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
front of Kippilaw House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
15 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ailsalsa
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most fantastic place for a wedding!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most fantastic time at Kippilaw House for our wedding. Words can't describe how amazing it was. Everyone commented on how brilliant a venue it was and how everything ran so smoothly.

We really appreciate how much effort Lil and her team went to on the day to make sure all the transitions happened effortlessly (for us at least!). Jess and her team on the Saturday night were absolutely brilliant and she really thought of everything. She consulted us on all the important things but did a great job of guessing and sorting stuff out for us without any hint of stress- she was fantastic! Staff were willing to arrange changes of time for the break with the kitchen when we were running behind schedule and were so lovely about it! All of the waiting staff during dinner were so smiley and lovely and they really knew what they were doing- such a credit to Lil and the fab venue!

The rooms were all gorgeous and we loved that on the Friday, Sunday and Monday we were left to our own devises- it gave us the chance to relax and chat with everyone without having to try and get round them all on the day of our wedding. There are very few places where that would have been possible (we know because we scoured the whole of Scotland trying to find them!) and being able to turn our wedding day into a wedding weekend really made it so special.

The tables and crockery were just gorgeous and I can't even begin to explain how happy we were with all the food- the chef is truely fantastic! We asked a lot by not sticking to Kippilaw's menus and creating our own and were nervous about whether our Moroccan inspired feasts would work on a large scale but it was amazing! All of our friends had always said the only expectation they had of our wedding was that the food would be great and everyone was blown away and said how much better it was than the usual roast chicken- we can't thank Lil and her team enough for their willingness to give it a go and making it so much better than we could have imagined!

I could go on forever about how fantastic it was and we will be talking about how amazing it was forever, to whomever will listen, and even to those who don't!

Lil is so laid back it helped us remain laid back and I think we can honestly say that we are the only people we know to get married who didn't have any stress in the run up to the wedding or on the day- thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing rooms.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
thx so much -please come back -we loved having you and your family and friends
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicePotOf...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding venue”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Kippilaw House; relaxed, informal and so comfortable. The house is restored to a lovely standard, but is still quirky enough that you can really feel like it's your own home.

The wedding day itself was superb, nothing was too much trouble, the Kippilaw staff felt like very helpful friends. Beautiful setting, excellent food, suited us perfectly. We and our friends and family all had brilliant day.

Bit of a hidden gem - would not hesitate to recommend for a wedding, special birthday party or any big family gathering. Enjoy!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith W
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Party House”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We were guest of our friends who were home from NZ for Christmas and New Year and we enjoyed three nights of splendour in Kippilaw House including Dinner for 44 on New Year's Eve. The house sleeps 30 easily, and has been done to a standard which is just right: nice old features retained everywhere, very good kitchen for working in (I cooked for the 44), nice new bathrooms and the rest of the house surprisingly warm for a big old house with a lovely lived in feel so you don't feel you have to walk around on eggshells. Because the house was full the price per head was very reasonable. We had the use of the ball room on 1st Jan which allowed some good space for dancing. Owners were very friendly and helpful, and also arranged catering for 1st Jan which was excellent. They say it can hold up to 200 for weddings. Would be a pretty special place for a wedding.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The sheer size and proportionment, so even full there was space.
Liked least: Nothing really
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a large gathering!”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We had an excellent weekend at Kippielaw for my sister's hen weekend. I found it quite by accident on the internet! We were a large group and really enjoyed the huge space on the ground flood, expecially the large dining room for a meal on arrvial. This was catered for by the owner at a very reasonable price and being able to bring our own booze with no penalty was a bonus!
We then had a great day out at the Kelso races and in the evening were able to enjoy the proximity to the town of Melrose and all that that had to offer!
There is even a trampoline in the garden! Have a look - it is fab!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The variety of bedrooms and lots of staircases!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2013 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything, it's impossible to pick one thing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jonathan...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“What wonderful wedding week”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

My Fiance and i booked this for our wedding week having totally fallen in love with the beauty and charm of the house. We had several meetings with lil the owner who let us wander round the house at will and get a feel for it which really helped us understand the place and how it can be used.

We arrived on monday and had a dinner/party for 25 close friends and family which was great fun and the catering facilities were more than adequate. We could use our own stereo equipment for music and lil had been kind enough to have the piano's tuned so the musical folk amongst us could play them which along with the open fires created a beautiful atmosphere.

The following day we had a 'meet and greet' for all the other guests coming on the wedding day which worked really well in the space and gave everyone a chance to say a hello to each other and have a look round the beautiful surroundings.

On the wedding day itself the staff at the house looked after all wedding arrangements and it was fantastic.
We had our ceremony on the stairs and everyone looked fantastic with smiles on all faces, it was the perfect space for the sort of thing we wanted. This was followed by 'afternoon tea' and fizz which was really good and all my friends are still talking about the amazing sticky cocktail sausages!!!!! People had another chance to mingle through the rooms and talk with all the other guests.

We then had our wedding feast in the ballroom which was nothing short of brilliant. Homemade game terrine with home made oatcakes, the terrine was moist and delicious and the oatcakes were so tasty. We followed this by huge local roast chickens with all the trimmings. We had asked for this to be carved at the table by nominated guests so everyone got involved in the food which worked really well, the staff also had smiles on there faces watching everything take place. It is clear that kippliaw house spare no expense when it comes to sourcing and preparing any food they put on, it really shows in the end result.

After dinner the room was cleared and we had our party in there too which was a great laugh with a pay bar opening for us.

Kippilaw is the most magical venue which is so flexible. it really can lend itself to any event and has a wonderful ability to feel like everyones home no matter how long your stay.

Thank you for everything, it was great and we WILL be back

A very exhausted happy couple

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your time here, we loved having you and very much look forward to welcoming you back. From all the Kippilaw Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review, you were fantastic guests and we are very pleased to have played a part in your celebrations. It's always good to hear that what we do at Kippilaw (our rooms, our food, our service)is well received. Best wishes from all at Kippilaw, we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing