We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend”
other traveller has booked this property
front of Kippilaw House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of Kippilaw House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
front of Kippilaw House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
15 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wilma B
2 reviews
“Weekend”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This is a fantastic place to stay for a large party. We had a great weekend and a lovely meal cooked for us on Saturday night. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2018
Thank you for choosing Kippilaw .
We loved hosting your group and glad you enjoyed our food.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginabreck
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kippilaw House”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I can’t praise Kippalaw house enough. A party of 30 of us spent a weekend at Kippilaw House for my daughters hen party. We had a wonderful weekend in this magnificent and welcoming house. Everything is provided for to make your weekend whatever you want it to be. There are no noise restrictions which is important when thirty chattering girls get together. Self catering is done with ease as the kitchen is very well equipped. We also had a delicious meal served on he second night by Lil. Fabulous place . Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2018
Thank you so much for all coming to Kippilaw to celebrate.
We enjoyed your lovely group of ladies and we are glad you liked your meal here .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
986natali...
Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kippilaw house”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Such a beautiful house and grounds. We had fantastic weather which made it even better. There was so much room and the house had been kept so well. Was very comfortable and peaceful. Would definitely recommend, particularly for a large group.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2018
Thank you for choosing Kippilaw.
We enjoyed your hen group weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
souliros
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I could not recommend this house more for a big group (30 of us on a hen do) to celebrate. The house is absolutely beautiful. The catered night was fantastic (food delicious). We were able to order hot tubs, food and drink delivery which was there when we arrived. Loads of outdoor space. We had no need to leave kippilaw house from Friday to Sunday what a fantastic weekend. I'd love to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2018
thank you for choosing kippilaw .we really enjoyed all the guests and the great fun you all had .we would love to welcome you back anytime .come visit us .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pixiewifi...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Wedding”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I had the peasure of a attending the wedding of Jen & Harry here on 26/04/18.
The setting was stunning the House was tastely decorated in vintage style.
Everything was perfect for the lovely Couple.
Ceremony room very tastefully decorated with a very talented Harpist entertaining us whilst waiting for the Bride.
The meal was delicious serving staff very friendly and helpful. Bar service excellant and well priced.
Lastly when our Coach would not attempt the drive way, the staff all pitched in with their cars to drive us safely to the coach.
Fabulous Day, Thank you all very much

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2018
We really enjoyed hosting this lovely couples wedding.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the catering and the warm welcome we try to give to all guests.
It was a bit strange about your bus company ,but we were glad to help the guests in any way we can.
Please come back and visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWolf1984
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a wedding venue!”
Reviewed 27 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We are just off the back of our wedding at this wonderful looking old building. And i cannot thank them enough.

Starting with the grounds they are very well kept, plenty of outside spaces from the big tree and field down to the well kept garden at the side of the house. Then you go inside and you are greeted by a wonderful lobby with many rooms to the side and a grand staircase which leads up to the many rooms available from the owners Lil and Douglas.

Onto the wedding, we booked the place for 2 nights with breakfast included. the night before was a nice chill affair with much decorating and we were pretty much given the run of the place with Lil on hand if needed in another part of the house. On our wedding day they could not have been any nicer, breakfast was served with plenty in reserves for our hungry guests and all the staff turned up to facilitate our wedding and they really could not have been any better if they tried, they worked their hearts out! Everything went without a hitch till later on that night when our bus company wouldnt come down the long driveway part and again they stepped in offering to run our guests up and down this path so that they wouldnt do themselves an injury. With many of them working the next morning as well (they usually dont do a thursday) it was a monumental effort and one that myself and my bride very much appreciated. I honestly cant say enough about how down to earth, giving and thoughtful everyone was.

All in all a fantastic venue with fantastic people!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2018
Congratulations and thank you so much to harry & Jen for choosing Kippilaw for their wedding.We loved having you and your family and friends.It was a shame about your bus company ,as we get buses here all the time with no problems ,but our staff are always glad to help in any way possible.xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_spac...
1 review
“Fantastic Wedding Venue!”
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had our wedding at Kippilaw in September 2017 from Friday night through to Sunday morning and the whole experience was wonderful! We didn’t want to leave.

The venue is fantastic and our guests loved it! We had guest from the UK and Taiwan and they thought the house was just stunning and made the environment feel magical. Nice rooms with different themes and lots of character. It really did have the feel of a big family wedding! The house has a few fireplaces that were on which made the evening feel very cozy.

The food was outstanding, we had beef, seafood and a vegetarian pie (which was huge!) everyone loved it. Cutting a huge piece of meat really was fun for our guests – some new skills were acquired that day. A great way to make people happy is to give them great food!

The team at Kippilaw were also great, Lil and Douglas helped us plan and prepare the wedding – making sure we didn’t make any newbie mistakes, the catering was great and suited everyones needs and the waiting staff were extremely helpful.

The house interior and exterior makes for some great photos too! We have a lot of happy memories here.

A great place for wedding with lots of character, highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
On Behalf of Everyone at Kippilaw ,we had a wonderful experience with
Your lovely families and friends .
Thank you for choosing Kippilaw.
Please come and visit again anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing