We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A luxury cottage in a quiet little village”
other travellers have booked this property
Romantic and cosy, Kirkton Cottage is the perfect get away for couples, families or friends and dogs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic and cosy, Kirkton Cottage is the perfect get away for couples, families or friends and dogs
The pretty front garden is a great place to relax and enjoy views of the Eildon Hills
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Romantic and cosy, Kirkton Cottage is the perfect get away for couples, families or friends and dogs
The pretty front garden is a great place to relax and enjoy views of the Eildon Hills
The bright hallway welcomes you into our charming period cottage
A warm welcome (and chilled champagne) awaits you. A welcome basket of homemade and seasonal treats
Enjoy relaxing and cosying up in front of the log fire.
Our bespoke kitchen has beautiful Emma Bridgewater and Denby pottery, a belfast sink and dishwasher
Real slate flooring, oak beam & seating for 4, the kitchen/diner leads out onto a colourful terrace
The beautifully appointed family  bathroom has spa toiletries and soft egyptian cotton towels
A luxurious soak in a hot deep bath or a refresh in the rainfall shower - the choice is yours
The tranquil downstairs master bedroom in neutral tones has a kingsize bed and lots of storage
And so to bed ...Lots of little touches to make your stay special
Cosy robes are supplied for your comfort to relax in
The bright upper landing snug with cuddler sofa - ideal for planning your trips out and about
The bright upstairs bedroom made up as a twin
Lots of colour and a Weber gas BBQ to cook up some tasty treats
Cheers ! Relax after a busy day out and about enjoying all the area has to offer.
The fully equipped laundry & secure storage space for bikes etc in an adjacent building for your use
The beautiful Abbey town of Melrose  - part of the 4 Abbeys cycle route, just five minutes away
Melrose town centre - full of independent retailers and fabulous coffee stops and quality eateries
The River Tweed is great for picturesque riverside walks and for fishing
Melrose RFC hosts its world famous Rugby 7's,  in April each year. Book early to enjoy the action.
Come and stay in our centrally located luxury cottage in the beautiful Scottish Borders
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

fssutton1
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“A luxury cottage in a quiet little village”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Kirkton Cottage was the perfect base for our five week stay in the Borders region. My wife and I explored the Borders, the north of England and a small section of the west coast, and to Edinburgh and beyond - everyday it was a pleasure to return to the comfort of the cottage. Angie cave us a warm welcome and was helpful throughout our stay.
The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard, with incredible attention to detail, every comfort and need has been thought of! The welcome basket was full of delicious homemade and local products.
Excellent WiFi, plenty of hot water with good pressure. We cooked most meals in, the kitchen had all the equipment we needed, including the fresh growing herbs in the garden. The bed was comfortable with quality linens, and the soft robes were appreciated. The weekly cleaning and linen change came with more homemade treats and other goodies.
We were content to spend some days just enjoying the cottage with a nice fire providing even more atmosphere.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Kirkton Cottage for your special visit to Scotland and managed to see and do so much during your time with us.
Kind Regards
Robin & Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil W
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“First class !”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just returned from our stay at Kirkton cottage with my wife and 2 children.
Possibly one of the nicest cottages I have ever stayed in.
Attention to detail second to none. Cannot fault in anyway, we will definitely be back

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Hi Neil
Thanks very much for your kind review. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we can welcome you all back again to Kirkton Cottage to enjoy the great outdoors of the Scottish Borders.
Kind regards
Robin & Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidJ46
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautifully and luxuriously equipped cottage in lovely peaceful and friendly village”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have stayed in Bowden in the past so know the area quite well. Kirkton Cottage is without doubt the best self catering accomodation - and we have stayed in many - that we have encountered. It is equipped and maintained to the highest level. everything that you could think of and more is provided. The welcome pack with Champagne etc. wonderful! The fixtures and fittings are clean, immaculate, and of the highest quality. Angie and Robin were very friendly and helpful. All in all we had an excellent week - new attractions since our last visit were the railway connection to Edinburgh at Tweedbank and the Main Street Coffee and bookshop in St Boswells. We hope to visit Kirkton Cottage again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you both enjoyed the charms of Kirkton Cottage and Bowden and found lots to do. We would love to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Robin & Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilK109
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent accommodation. Super welcome pack. Perfect for a quiet escape away. Attention to detail first class.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely review.
Kind Regards
Robin & Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESOR_60
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Scottish Borders Cottage”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Angie was the perfect host,she was at the cottage on our
arrival to show us round this perfect village cottage.There was a lovely welcome pack with all the essentials milk,cake and champagne.The cottage was immaculately presented inside and out.We will definitely stay again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Kirkton Cottage and would love to welcome you back again.
Kind Regards
Robin & Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miss R
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highest standard of accommodation we've found in Melrose area.”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent a week in this cottage.

We've stayed in three other cottages in the surrounding area over the last few years, one of which we returned to once.

This one was the best in terms of décor, location, equipment, and cleanliness and privacy.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Hello Heather. Thank you so much for your lovely review of Kirkton Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have tried to include everything we would like to have in a luxury cottage so it's great to hear we are getting it right for our guests. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin & Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr A G
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Easter weekend break with Family (two older teen daughters came too) and had to get straight onto TripAdvisor… this rental is simply 5-STAR! The cottage is beautiful, set in a lovely location, easy short drive to Melrose and the surrounding area and a relatively short train ride to Edinburgh too. Rooms are stunning and the outdoor suntrap patio is lovely. Facilities are top rate including superb internet connectivity. We’ve stayed in some really gorgeous rentals in the UK and USA over the years but this is something special. The Hosts, Robin and Angie, make what is a very good rental into an amazing experience. Their attention to detain is simply superb. The welcome pack inc. chocolates, cakes and champagne, tons of logs for the fire, magazines and books to read, DVD’s to watch… the list is endless. All facilities are sharp, and in tip top condition, no worn out novels and guide books here, all is perfect. If you have stayed in 5-star rentals before come to Kirkton Cottage in Bowdon near Melrose and see what 5-star really looks like!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Hi Anthony. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed all Kirkton Cottage has to offer. We have tried to include all the little extra touches we would like to find at a luxury cottage, so it's lovely to hear we are getting it right! We hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Robin & Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.