We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melrose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Braidwood Guest House
Ranked #5 of 12 Melrose B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here for one night after completing St. Cuthbert's Way in the "opposite" direction. After a 26K hike on a very hot day we were very happy to be welcomed to our clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was as expected - cereal and juice with 'the full Scottish" and variations thereof. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
29
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed two nights at Braidwood B&B in Melrose recently. The rooms were very clean and the Scottish breakfast, cooked by Mike and served by Helen, absolutely delicious. The house is ideally situated, in the heart of the old town of Melrose, just a-minute walk from the legendary Abbey, and a five-minute drive from Walter Scott's Abbotsford house. Both Mike and Helen are great, lovely people who make you feel home. We definitely recommend this adress without reserve.

Room Tip: The attic is absolutely charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lovely spot with in walking distance of Melrose Abby. I had a room on the top floor with a nice view of the landscape. Lovely breakfast, helpful people. I would definitely recommend Braidwood with two caveats. One, my ensuite bath did not have a shower, only a tub, and , although the hot water and the soak was nice, I , as do many people, prefer showers, and two, on the top floors it was very difficult to pick up the WiFi which meant either sitting on the stairwells or going al the way downstairs. It would be perfect if you have no need of either of those.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Excellent location, clean room and extremely comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious!

One small concern: the wifi service was spotty - hard to establish a good connection at times. This should not be a problem for most guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Power18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Fed up from work and needing a short break We recently booked into Braidwood at short notice with friends for a weekend walking trip and from the moment of booking we were impressed by the quality of service. When enquiring we asked for 2 en suite double rooms . The hosts then took some time to explain to us that only a large twin room en suite was available plus an attiic style double with private bathroom. It was explained that this room was at the top of the house and had restricted head room but was a very quiet and private space. On arrival our cases were carried to the rooms and some time was spent asking if we required any information for our stay, restaurants , pubs, parking etc. Normally i am very reluctant to stay in B&B,s but i found this experience very refreshing and now totally converted. Braidwood is a lovely house and absolutely spotless, our friends room the twin was beautiful, and incredible value. Our room the attic one was really quaint and certainly in keeping with an old traditional townhouse. The headroom isnt really a problem my husband is about 5ft .10. Most importantly we slept like logs and felt really comfortable , it has a large bathroom with bath which was very welcome after a treck over the Eildon hills. Breakfast was superb, wonderfull fresh fruit salad, gluten free toast on request for me which was a real surprise as i had ommitted to say on booking and incredible full breakfasts to keep the men going all day and kippers to die for. When having breakfast we chatted to another couple who apparently stay 2 or 3 times a year travelling from the Newcastle area, they had a double en suite which they said was really exceptional . We will most certainly return as this is a great place to stay ideally situated near the Abbey and in a lovely town. We had a really nice meal in Marmions just accross the road from Braidwood and a friendly chat over a beer with some locals in the Kings Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed over on Saturday night as attending friends wedding. Nice welcome, twin room ideal, spotlessely clean and quality breakfast. Would like to stay here again to explore Borders on foot and on bike!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordie7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked two rooms - one for ourselves and one for my elderly parents. We were in the attic room which others have mentioned is mostly restricted height and is up a steep flight of stairs - not at all suitable for the elderly infirm or very drunk! We soon developed a radar though and the room was very charming and comes with very large bathroom just across the landing. My parents had a family ensuite room downstairs which was lovely.
Breakfast was very good indeed and Helen was charming and helpful pointing out places to visit -we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
George & Abbotsford Hotel
3.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braidwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braidwood Guest House

Property: Braidwood Guest House
Address: 8 Buccleuch Street | Buccleuch Street, Melrose TD6 9LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Melrose
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Townhouse built in the mid 1800's offers an ideal place to stay whilst discovering the delights of Melrose .Situated only 100 meters from the Abbey and within a few minutes walk of excellent Restaurants and Pubs we are ideally positioned to offer walkers, cyclists, and tourists a warm welcome to the town. The building has been tastefully updated over time but purposefully allowed to retain all the charm and character of a house of its period. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braidwood Guest House Melrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing